We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Soquel, United States
1 review
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Terrific stay. No problems. Lovely location. Best service I'v had in a Hilton property to date. Attentive, caring staff. Great breakfast and good value. We were there to check out UCSD for for my daughter. We were right next to campus, terrific location, had a spa day at the Lodge at Torrey Pines next door (awesome) and terrific walking and hiking at Torrey pines. All in all, excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank April Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are pleased that your family found our hotel comfortable and our staff helpful. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    462
    195
    83
    45
See reviews for
319
356
54
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

The location is good for those looking to stay by the beach. La Jolla cove is not too far away. You still have to drive there though. Be aware of the hidden fees that will be added. 25 dollars each day. One hundred will be taken out from your credit card without you being told up front. Just in case you drink their water or use the internet. Don't expect any accommodations. The only smile you get is from someone wanting to be your valet. That's it. The gym looked alright. It was too crowded for me to use in the morning. Too small. The hotel looks amazing on the website. It's nice looking, but not close to what is being advertised.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and the next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, we do hope that you will be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and the service at the hotel was one of the best we've experienced. The hotel was our home base while visiting the area for the first time. Relatively close to San Diego proper but was also close to other areas we wanted to explore (Legoland, Del Mar, La Jolla, etc.).

What made our trip awesome was the service at the hotel (front desk, bellmen, restaurant, etc.). A special shout out to Andrea, Jeff and Saul at the front desk and Lynda and Dean (concierge) as they accommodated us and helped us out with anything we needed.

We got a package that included the breakfast and although the breakfast was very good, they could use a bit of changing up every now and then as they had the same buffet every morning. Don't get me wrong, it was great but maybe a little variety would be helpful.

Other than that, the pool was awesome and very relaxing and refreshing; the restaurant for lunch and dinner was great and the room itself was clean and very spacious. We had a view overlooking the pool and golf course and it was fantastic.

Yes, parking is a bit expensive but we parked in the street down the block and it wasn't so bad.

For us, the service is what makes a hotel and I can truly say that these guys are the best around!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and the golf course in building 3. It's the building that sticks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled our staff helped make your stay more comfortable and your family enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We shared a night @ this fabulous hotel about 10 k's from San Diego overlooking The Torrey Pines Golf Course & The Atlantic Ocean.
Plenty of parking & free Wifi in the lobby.
Breakfast downstairs was excellent & was mainly serve one self.
An easy drive to The Old Town & The Waterfront areas.
Easy access to the Freeway heading North or South.
70/80 minutes to LAX,where we were heading to access our Qantas flight back to Australia.
We had a large room with a view of the Golf Course & The Atlantic Ocean.
Well recommended to golfers particularly.

Room Tip: Wifi available in the lobby. Excellent large rooms. Great views of the Golf Course. Request a roo...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is an excellent idea & should be applauded & delivered by other similiar establishments
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carringtonfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed our location in La Jolla and we look forward to your next stay. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent a couple of nights here when visiting attractions in San Diego. It's 5 min off the freeway and around 10 min to La Jolla and 25 min to San Diego Zoo which we also visited. The accommodations, public areas and service are top notch, with the whole place having a real upscale and stylish feel to it. The swimming pool area is also really good with modern and well maintained sun beds and gazebos readily available. We ate out each night (you have to drive as there isn't a restaurant within walking distance) although there is an on-site restaurant and bar. Wasted on us, as we're non-golfers, there is a golf course to the rear of the hotel. If you get a room facing the ocean, you'll have the golf course in the fore front with the ocean behind - very pleasant. Our room had 2 queen sized beds as well as a writing desk area and a lounger chair, so everything we needed. We booked through hotels.com and good a good rate which included free parking ($25 per night otherwise) and free buffet breakfast ($20 per person otherwise). The breakfast was good with a wide variety of cereals, fruit, juices, toast etc. as well as hot items - eggs, bacon, sausage and made to order omelettes. We had a small plumbing problem with our room which when reported was fixed very quickly and they gave us free internet access in our room (without asking) which was a fantastic gesture. The hotel does have free wifi in the lobby area in any case, but normally wifi in your room is an extra cost unless you have it included as part of a special bundle rate or are an Honours Club member (which we weren't). We can recommend this hotel to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChorleyRecruiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are happy you enjoyed our location and our hotel. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our family of 3 visited this hotel in August of 2014. My husband was pleasantly surprised he was able to get a tee time to golf, I had no idea how hard it was to secure a tee time when I made our hotel reservation last minute. He golfed during the 'twilight' time and it was very reasonable.

The room was okay, even though it was a slight upgrade (since we are diamond members), it wasn't anything spectacular, but it was clean and the beds were very comfy. The view was of a courtyard area and a little bit of the golf course. My husband travels a lot for work and he was even more disapointed in the room since he is used to being upgraded.

The bathroom had no exhaust fan, which is disgusting. I mean, come on....multiple people using the bathroom and taking hot showers with no exhaust fan ?!?!

I got absolutely no cell phone service in our room, service was very spotty, I tried multiple times to call out with my cell phone and the calls dropped every time.

I loved the sliding glass door and 2 chairs where we could sit outside on the balcony. The pool and spa area was very nice.

The restaurant was overpriced...we went there for a late dinner after swimming. I ended up asking if they had a menu with sandwiches because nothing sounded good off the dinner menu.

The restaurant and manager were WONDERFUL with our special requests. Our daughter has a severe peanut/nut allergy and they were great. Cooking her food special to ensure no cross contamination and also again at breakfast. They cooked her food all in the back instead of getting it off the breakfast bar to ensure her safety.

I would HIGHLY recommend that the management remove the entire container of peanut butter on the breakfast bar and replace it with the small individual serving sizes of peanut butter (2 tbls I believe).
With them having a huge open container of peanut butter on the breakfast bar, it cross contaminates EVERYTHING up there. (fruit, eggs, meat, etc) For someone allergic to nuts, this is a nightmare.
All it takes is someones peanut butter to end up on something else and you have someone going into Anaphylactic shock and possibly dying.

We drove up to the beach at Torrey pines park. It was $12 to park and was a very nice beach.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyCheerMoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback via TripAdvisor. We value your review and will be sharing it with our staff. We look forward to your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Park, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Recently my girlfriend and I took a week long vacation at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines. Everything from the ambiance to the comfort was top notch. One aspect that really stood out was the great service. We needed some general assistance a few times during our stay and Jodi at the front desk was amazing. Not only did she kindly meet all of our needs, but she went above and beyond our high expectations. We sincerely appreciated her excellence!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for the fabulous 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your vacation with us and our staff helped make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing