We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Sushi Mori

Sushi Mori
Ranked #85 of 1,236 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Had the teriyaki bento - which had some fab vegetable tempura. Sashimi was out of this world.
Good location, nice service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lux life G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“ooooh yummy”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

sitting outside, if only it had a beach view.. inside was a bit warm so we sat on the street had delicious fresh well mad sushi. The biggest plus is the biggest concern...the rolls way too many to choose between. on the mixed sushi plates the chef was willing to exclude things that you didnt like (for example I cant stand eel or shrimp) and they kept it out. Similarly in the Chirashi bowl they excluded things that were not liked.
great stuff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simoneltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Sushi Love”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had a dinner here during our stay
in beautiful, quite hilly, La Jolla. Our service was excellent - kind and prompt, sushi was delicious and beautifully plated. Loved the roll with baby lobster on top. Was SO good and so tender. We had four specialty rolls and loved them all! Loved the garden patio atmosphere, especially when the string lights turne on. The rolls, house cold sake (served in cool vase and with tiny ceramic cups), and a beer for $50. Really a good meal for a great price! Thanks Sushi Mori!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeanDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious, High-quality, Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner here; the restaurant doesn't look like much but the food was outstanding quality, and incredibly tasty. The only thing we didn't like were the green mussels - mussels cooked in hoisin and topped with more seafood. The mussels were overcooked, dry and stringy, and even apart from that didn't do anything for the dish. But the sashimi and maki were just excellent. We plan to go again.

Helpful?
Thank ljdursi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Melt in you Mouth Fish”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Sushi Mori is soooo good. Super friendly staff, great location down by La Jolla Shores, and a huuuge selection of rolls, all of which are delicious. Quality is definitely not sacrificed for quantity, though. Especially yummy are the no rice, cucumber-outside rolls.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Mori also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Sushi Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing