We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Busy for Romantic Dinner”

Eddie V's Prime Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Eddie V's Prime Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,236 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cave St.
Transit: San Diego Transit Authority Bus #30 stops at the corner of Torrey Pines Road and Prospect Street.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Too Busy for Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I went there for our anniversary. Food was very good, service was good as well, considering how busy they were. It was Saturday and around 7 pm the madness started...staff was running around us to a point that it was uncomfortable.
The place is a large dinner factory, and unfortunately personal touch is missing.
The views are great from every level of the restaurant, but tables are packed so close that you don't have any feeling of the privacy.
There is Valet parking outside, convenient and priced about the same as other public garages around.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    221
    69
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ambience, great service and great food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had reservations for a table and stopped in early for a drink at the bar. Stu the bartender was such a great guy and took care of us even though the bar was packed. We appreciated it so much we chose to cancel our reservation and have dinner at the bar. Scallops, crab and mushroom rice and lobster tacos were delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, drinks, great ocean view and the care Stu showed us. It was a fabulous experience and we will be back next time we visit La Jolla

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian and Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Awesome setting, excellent food at Eddie V's”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I rarely write a review after experiencing a group dinner with a large group as it often stretches the talents of even the best of restaurants, but this was a worthy exception. We were a group of 60 thirsty and hunger diners and were seated in a prime location, served wonderful steaks and lobster that was perfectly prepared. The wine list offered a broad selection of domestic and foreign wines (often hard to find in California) and the sommelier was quite expert in his knowledge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sobederm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek Ca
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible spot for a party”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had my daughter's graduation party on their terrace. It was the location, the best food and the absolute best catered restaurant experience I've ever had. Looking out over the water, dining on incredible appetizers and drinks served by the best and friendliest staff made the day complete. From Rani the catering manager to the chef who took great pride in creating a one of a kind menu. I can't say enough about the entire experience. I would highly recommend talking to Rani (pronounced Ronnie) and she will make it happen.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rtiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in La Jolla”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This restaurant was recommended by some friends so we decided to give it a try. It is in beautiful La Jolla, right on the ocean with a wonderful view. We had a drink at the rooftop bar which was most pleasant and then dinner overlooking the water. The wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive, making some great suggestions. The menu selection was ample with an emphasis on fish. The quality of food was fantastic and overall experience wonderful. I would definitely return if/when in La Jolla again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eddie V's Prime Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Eddie V's Prime Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing