We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place but rooms a little musty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pantai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pantai Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Great place but rooms a little musty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I love the location, the size of the suite and the service overall but the living area & kitchen were a little outdated and musty. The bathroom and bedroom had been updated so it was very nice. I gave them feedback and they are in the process of changing it.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view even though more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hi Crowles12!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Pantai Inn. We hope that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. I would love to know which room you stayed in as all of our Pantai Inn rooms were completed at the end of 2011. All of the finishes were designed to mirror the feel of being in Bali from the stone back-splashes to the individually pounded copper sinks in the kitchens and bathrooms. It would be interesting to see which rooms you found to be dated as I can assure you they are all brand new! As for the mustiness I am very disappointed as we take a lot of care and pride in the cleanliness of all of our rooms. Our housekeeping team does not overlook any detail before a room is released so if we missed something I truly apologize. Please let us know the room which room you were in so that we can make sure everything is taken care of.

Sincerely,

Shane Pappas
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    84
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
264
426
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed two nights at this really beautiful and stunningly renovated inn!! The location was just fabulous, right next to the beach, and just steps away from Prospect street, where all the shops and restaurants are! The staff was very friendly, had wine brought up to the room with a box of chocolates, and made us feel like we were their only guests!! The room (honeymoon suite) we had was amazing! Two huge TVs, one in the living room and one in the bedroom, a kitchenette, a view to the ocean, and an amazing shower were among some of the highlights!! What we loved most was the detail to make everything look and feel like Bali. The continental breakfast was very nice and tasty. The best part was eating on the patio while viewing the ocean! We were a little hesitant to take this small trip minutes away from home because we have small children and did not initially want to leave them. However, we were so happy and comfortable that it really felt like a second honeymoon!! There was no feeling of guilt for leaving the kids with the grandparents! We would definitely visit again and recommend it to any couple wanting a little honeymoon feeling again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This Hotel's location is prefect ,its located on the water and depending on the room/apartment you get has great water views.The grounds were meticulously kept and the rooms exceptionally clean.The decor was beautiful with its Bali feel .We enjoyed the fireplace and the fact that we had a den and a balcony to enjoy our continental breakfast each morning.The staff was gracious and very helpful in advising us on making our way around the city and sites.There are many great restaurants and shops within walking distance.Its a bit pricey but well worth it for what you get.The Continental breakfast each morning was more than enough to get us going until lunch .Our only complaint was that we had a ground floor room and were awaken by the people upstairs because of the squeaking floor boards.We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Try got get a room on the second floor ,better views and less noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The property is unique and gives you the feeling of living in a small apartment on the ocean front. We enjoyed having the living room with our partial view of the ocean (which was actually very good) and turning on the fireplace to have our coffee by. The breakfast is a nice continental breakfast with enough to get your started in the morning. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Some of the good restaurants we visited were Hake and Finch's Wine Bar and would recommend them both. Highlight of trip hiking in Torrey Pines National Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. We couldn't have asked for a better location...right on the water and only blocks away from wonderful restaurants. The room had a full kitchen and a wonderful fireplace in the living room. The staff was very helpful and friendly...seemed very genuine, which is rare these days. They keep coffee and infused water out all day in the lobby, which is right next to a patio looking out at the ocean. I would have given it 5 stars, but I do have a small complaint...the bed was not very comfortable. It was a 4-poster, which was beautiful...but it was very creeky, so everytime we moved through the night it would wake us up. I would highly recommend Pantai and if I'm ever lucky enough to visit La Jolla again, I know where I'm staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88LJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This truly was home away from home comfort! The room was immaculate and the décor was so well done. The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. They close the blinds, turn on the fireplace, turn down your bed with fabulous chocolates and turn on soft music for you in the evening while you are out. The location is so close to everything. The shops and restaurants were within walking minutes. We had a full ocean view and it was spectacular! The price includes a continental breakfast which is delightful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. This was definitely a special place to stay! I have nothing negative to say about this place at all!!! Loved this bed and breakfast hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel was so good that I had to write a review... Something I've not done before! Location was perfect, right next to the seafront, if you don't have an expansive view of the ocean, the sea is less than 10 seconds (across the road), and its perfect location for seeing the sunset in full.

The staff were a massive plus, SO friendly, knowledgeable on the area and only too happy to help you plan your days, we even met the owner who went of of her way to accommodate us with a sea view for the evening The parking is free, which was a pleasant surprise. The rooms themselves are decorated to perfection, the attention to detail is second to none - it felt homely yet luxurious. All the products are high quality like the dinnerware, glasses and toiletries (not to mention the local chocolates provided at turn down - they are ridiculously good). All the bars and restaurants in the central hub of la Jolla (pronounced "la Hoya" by the way) are within a 5-10 minute walk. Finally the breakfast was great, fresh and plentiful. And there is coffee /iced water available all day.

If I had to say something negative, it would be that the wifi worked intermittently - but have said that, it didn't bother me enough to mention it to them, and I'm sure they would have looked into it if I had.

Overall, really couldn't recommend it enough, worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holibobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantai Inn

Property: Pantai Inn
Address: 1003 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pantai Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional boutique hotel masterfully blends Bali's old-world charm, kingly comforts, and cutting-edge technologies. Reminiscent of the tranquil retreats of the Indonesian island, Pantai Inn offers the essence of Bali with richly appointed suites and ocean views. No two rooms are alike, each decorated with custom furnishings, art, wood and stone carvings, all hand-chosen and imported from Bali. Most notably, Pantai Inn exudes the purest form of luxury. This paradise is your gateway to experience Bali's most revered traits...the highest standards of genuine, friendly and welcoming hospitality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pantai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing