We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
Review of Pantai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pantai Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for in night to celebrate our anniversary.
The decor is beautiful, and the location is hard to beat.
Within walking distance of many restaurants and shops.
Most hotels require a two night minimum, but was happy that this property allows bookings for one night. Free parking and breakfast are also a great bonus.
Highly recommend this place.
The only negative that I can say, is that a noisy trash truck picked up their trash at 6:00 A.M. on a Sunday.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishopburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Bishopburr - I am very happy to read your comments and I thank you for the feedback. I also want you to know that I am doing some research on what place around us has their trash picked up early on a Sunday morning. Our hotel has this scheduled during the week after 10AM for that exact reason. We hope to see you again soon.

Terima Kasih,
(Thank you in Balinese)
Dallas King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    86
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
289
443
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

All I can say is - I wish I could buy this 1 bedroom cottage (Rm 211) my husband and I stayed in for 3 nights! This is such a quaint property - the mix of rich Balinese decor of the hotel building and the coziness of the California cottages was a unique delight! Sometimes even after reading great reviews I am skeptical - well, this place certainly exceeded my expectations! The pictures on the website are accurate and the porch was my go-to spot every day - it provided an excellent view of the ocean and the porch wall was just at the perfect height to block out the street traffic without blocking the view of the ocean. Even though it is literally across the street from Scripps Park, it was surprisingly quiet - could even slightly hear the roar of the waves while sitting in the living room at night with the windows closed. The room was very spacious, very clean and smelled really good (didn't have that hotel smell - smelled more like a clean house). There is a TV in both the living room and the bedroom and even a small walk-in closet in the bedroom. The unit has a unique feature of both a front/side door and a back door. Parking is typically right next to your unit (although we couldn't fit our F150 in the spot near our unit so we had to park on the other side of the complex, but that was no big deal). The Lobby (spelled Lobi) entrance is in the hotel building and is on Ocean Blvd. The staff - especially Nina - was very kind and just the right amount of friendly - even stopping to ask us if we had caught a glimpse of the whales that had surfaced that morning (which we had unfortunately missed). My husband and I walked up and down the coast in both directions from the property and we both agreed that aside from the million-dollar beach-front homes, we had the best spot! We are planning to return with the kids as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Room 211 is the most spacious one-bedroom, has the wrap-around porch and is considered "oceanfr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2HikeAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for one night, chose to stay here because of the location. We are used to staying at hotels nearby but have to worry about paying for parking and searching for parking. Here the location is excellent no need for a car and they do not charge for parking.

The best part of our stay is we were upgraded to a lovely 2 bedroom with full ocean view! We were so happy and excited!
After a walk around, we returned to find a bottle of wine, fire place on and smooth jazz playing, they are awesome here!

We will be returning, no hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephymaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Stephymaree,
We appreciate the title of being awesome! All of our hard work pays off when it makes an impact on a guest such as yourself. We aim to please with complimentary parking, wifi and all sorts of beach necessities.

We sure do hope you can return and do it again soon.

Terima Kasih,
(Thank you in Balinese)
Dallas King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here (April 2014) for our anniversary. We could not have asked for a better place to celebrate!

We stayed in a spacious ocean-front room with a private balcony overlooking Coast Blvd and the Cove. The location is perfect, with stunning views of the ocean. We loved falling asleep to the ocean waves crashing on the rocks within steps of our room.

Everything is within walking distance, so no need for a car.

Our room had a full kitchen (fridge, microwave, and stove). This is perfect if you plan to stay for a full vacation. Plus, there was a lovely fireplace in the living room.

The tranquil, yet modern decor transports you to Bali.

Free on-site parking, free wi-fi, and a delicious free breakfast all made this trip perfect; because, there is nothing worse than having to pay for these extras.

This place goes out of the way to make guests feel special. When we arrived they had champagne and local chocolates (Eclipse Chocolates) waiting for us, which was a great touch!

Staff were great and very helpful/professional!

We are already planning our next trip here with our extended family members!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort steps from La Jolla cove beach. The accomodations are incredible - rooms are updated in modern, quality decor. The property staggers units to allow many rooms to have fabulous ocean views. Staff is amazing & genuinely helpful. Grounds are luxurous with great outdoor space & vibrant landscaping. Full breakfast is impressive and afternoon snacks were a nice touch.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat_9079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Cat_9079
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As a top contributor with so many reviews, we value your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location, the hotel, breakfast, and (most importantly) our people.

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you back again soon.

Terima Kasih,
(Thank you in Balinese)
Dallas King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerbusch, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Pantai Inn was the best hotel of our roundtrip through California. We stayed there over easter with our two teenage kids, who loved it as well. It´s perfect location directly at the beach, the every spacious rooms with tasteful interior, most comfortable beds and a wonderful breakfast were just wonderful. Thanks to the owners and everybody working there, you really made us feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very clean, beautiful view, spacious suit with everything needed and more. Friendly service. Breakfast and located perfectly for shopping, jogging and relaxing. Definitely coming back. Full sized refrigerator, large living room and perfect view of the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rutledge525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Rutledge525,
Thank you for your 5 star review. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. We strive to provide a positive experience and are glad that we were successful. Please do come and visit again.

Terima Kasih,
(Thank you in Balinese)
Dallas King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
834 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,007 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantai Inn

Property: Pantai Inn
Address: 1003 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pantai Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional boutique hotel masterfully blends Bali's old-world charm, kingly comforts, and cutting-edge technologies. Reminiscent of the tranquil retreats of the Indonesian island, Pantai Inn offers the essence of Bali with richly appointed suites and ocean views. No two rooms are alike, each decorated with custom furnishings, art, wood and stone carvings, all hand-chosen and imported from Bali. Most notably, Pantai Inn exudes the purest form of luxury. This paradise is your gateway to experience Bali's most revered traits...the highest standards of genuine, friendly and welcoming hospitality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pantai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing