We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous, but........................” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pantai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pantai Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, but........................”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Amazing concept - amazing view - amazing rooms / bungalows - very spacious.
Loved the décor, the sleep quality, the amenities. Downside was that the lighting in the rooms is poor.
We were three people, and they had one bar of soap for us !!!! Took a long time to deliver extra towels and soaps.
Housekeeping knocked at the door at 9:00 AM - I asked them to come back in an hour - at 5:00 PM, our room was still not attended to. We had to ask for Housekeeping to come. That was really disappointing. When you are paying upwards of $500 a night, service should be better. Also, it was quite noisy late at night just outside our room. One morning, a Costco delivery truck was parked outside our door at 8:30 AM, and the driver left the engine running. I am sure that Management will respond saying that next time they will try harder. But we just spent $500+ a night. Will there be a next time???? I think not. I don't want delivery trucks parked outside my room. And with the Housekeeping issue, if I was in their place, I would have had a fruit basket in the room as an apology. I can't believe that this hotel is #1 on Trip Advisor. I truly believe that we wasted money here, and we do stay at really nice hotels around the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DeepakinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
DeepakinToronto,
I was very disappointed to hear about your recent experience at the Pantai. My apologies on behalf of the entire team. Rather than simply respond to your comments, I would like to speak to you personally about your experience at the property in an effort to gain back some of the trust that was lost. My email is Dallas@Pantai.com. Please email me at your earliest convenience so that we can connect and set up a time to speak.

Kindest Regards,
Dallas King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    84
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
252
412
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing time here. We had an ocean front suite and it was well worth the extra cost to get the ocean front. Much or our time was spent relaxing on the lanai enjoying the scenery across the street -- Scripps Park, beautiful ocean, surfers, divers, kayakers, etc. Our suite included one bedroom with a comfortable queen size bed, sofa bed in living room, fully equipped kitchen with everything you would need to eat in or cook a simple meal. Easy to walk anywhere in the La Jolla Cove area. Traffic can be very congested on the weekends getting in and out of the area by car. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for oceanfront - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 165debbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We planned a last minute stay and wedding in La Jolla and found ourselves in luck when the Pantai Inn had a room. Our room was spectacular, directly across from Scripts Park. The grounds were very well maintained and offered all guests small little pockets outside for socializing and relaxing. Getting married outside on the lawn was a great treat, not to be missed and we want to send our thanks to the entire staff for excellence in service. In particular, Manager Dallas King who lead his team in support of all our needs. We loved it! We'll go back!
Gary & Debby Gentges, Seattle

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbyfloyd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Gary & Debbie,
All of us at Pantai are proud to have been able to do our small part in the celebration of your wedding. It was our sincere pleasure accommodating you and your guests. May you have a wonderful life together! Kindest Regards, Dallas King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is an outstanding hotel in a great location. Parking was great in a location that has terrible parking. We hardly used our car, walked to great restaurants, shopping, and walking along the coast. Office and cleaning staff were very professional and friendly. Room was facing the ocean, included a full kitchen,living room,bedroom and a fabulous porch overlooking the park and coast. We could have stayed happily for weeks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Sjmil,

We welcome your review and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff makes a conscious effort to insure guest are pleased and they genuinely appreciate your acknowledgement. We look forward to another opportunity to have you as our guest. Kindest Regards, Dallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Perfect for families. We stayed in a two bedroom beach cottage with a full kitchen. It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and is located directly across from a beautiful little beach that provided hours of fun for our two boys (9 and 12). Every person on staff that we encountered was friendly as well. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I would go back in a heartbeat! Coffee, tea, and fruit are always available. One afternoon there were coconut macaroons available with the coffee. While doing my laundry one evening, one of the girls working there asked if I wanted a drink and brought one! Everyone was so friendly! It was fun eating breakfast on the outdoor patio with views of the ocean. We were able to talk to the other visitors about not to miss places in the area. The staff gave us some great recommendations for restaurants. I loved being able to walk to ocean trails, shops and restaurants. It would be a great place to stay for a girls trip. Pantai Inn did not have a pool, but we could hear the waves at night and walked right out, across a street and were at the ocean. They are adding more rooms in another building, but still directly across from the beach. The bed was comfy and the place was very clean!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dana52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Pantai Inn on July 1st and 2nd and thoroughly enjoyed it. We started out in a studio room on the first night and then upgraded to one of the cottages on the second night. Definitely worth the extra cost, it was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in.

The staff are wonderful and go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. We want to say a special thanks to Daniel and Lisa who went above and beyond to make our stay extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas K, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Duane W,

I am pleased you enjoyed your accommodations at Pantai and thank you for acknowledging members of the staff who helped make your experience memorable. I know Daniel and Lisa very much appreciate your recognition.

Kindest Regards,
Dallas King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 279 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantai Inn

Property: Pantai Inn
Address: 1003 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pantai Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional boutique hotel masterfully blends Bali's old-world charm, kingly comforts, and cutting-edge technologies. Reminiscent of the tranquil retreats of the Indonesian island, Pantai Inn offers the essence of Bali with richly appointed suites and ocean views. No two rooms are alike, each decorated with custom furnishings, art, wood and stone carvings, all hand-chosen and imported from Bali. Most notably, Pantai Inn exudes the purest form of luxury. This paradise is your gateway to experience Bali's most revered traits...the highest standards of genuine, friendly and welcoming hospitality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pantai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing