We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great appetizers”

Finchs Bistro & Wine Bar
Ranked #136 of 1,239 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Torrey Pines and Kline
Description: Finch’s Wine Bar & Bistro is a serene, intimate space where guests can escape from the real world and relax, drink great wine, enjoy live music, and eat some of the best food in La Jolla. Whether sitting in the wine bar, in the dining room or on the cozy patio, we will provide you with a wonderful dining experience!
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great appetizers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We came for wine and appetizers only. The wine was good but a small menu for a wine bar. We tasted about 6 of the appetizers and all were really great. The service was really slow. Very slow and the restaurant was only about 1/4 full. But they were very friendly so I'll still give a good rating.

Helpful?
Thank kris_goku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Jolla's Little Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hidden gem on Girard, next to some very fine shops, has the most delicious food. Great place for lunch or dinner. Interesting wine list and a creative menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank toria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queretaro
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The good and not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The service was excellent, the beef ribs also but the polenta and profiteroles were below standard being hard and needing a knife to cut them. They need to make it more low key, relax.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quietbrujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I had checked out this place on line and I decided to give it a shot. Stopped by before happy hour was over. Sat at the bar. A few guys were sitting in there. One was the musician. He was going to play guitar jazz. I ordered the Old World Red Wine Flight and the Mushroom Pate. Both were great compliment to the other. The music was perfect. The owner came in and sat and gave a little history on some of the wines. I ordered the salted caramel bread pudding and the lamb sliders. Some of the I have ever had...I will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Love this place, tucked away nicely. It had great food, a total treat to go to. The seafood soup was great, broth really tasty... Could have used a bit more seafood in it though : )

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rupert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finchs Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Finchs Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing