We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Finchs Bistro & Wine Bar - CLOSED

Finchs Bistro & Wine Bar
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Torrey Pines and Kline
Description: Finch’s Wine Bar & Bistro is a serene, intimate space where guests can escape from the real world and relax, drink great wine, enjoy live music, and eat some of the best food in La Jolla. Whether sitting in the wine bar, in the dining room or on the cozy patio, we will provide you with a wonderful dining experience!
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Although just a few blocks off the main drag, it is a little jewel of a restaurant. Great food, very reasonable wine list and prices. Had a group of 14, service was impeccable, food was great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MFortGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Loved their new dishes and the entertainment”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I visit this restaurant often. They had an excellent singer, were packed and they have 2 new dishes which we had and they were excellent! A calamari appetizer with a mildly spicy sauce, and a light, fluffy, fruity, light dessert whipped like an excellent chocolate mouse is. I wanted it all to myself and will definitely go back for more. Especially since they ran out of the calamari because everyone kept ordering more. We always have excellent wine, and this night was no exception. We had a delicious 2008 Ramon Bilboa Reserva Rioja Tempranillo.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Pleasant patio and the music of a very talented jazz guitarist made for a delightful evening. The menu is varied and interesting. We had some dishes that were fine, one that was disappointing. Service was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wess19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Never a disappointing evening!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I'm not sure what makes Finch's one of my favorite restaurants. It could be the owners, staff, patrons, or most certainly the cuisine, I have never had a disappointing meal or evening at Finch's. If you are just passing through this sleepy beach town and want to feel as if you are part of the community then stop by and have a treat. You will be greeted by a happy face, dine in soft lighting and many evenings live music. If you go by for lunch you will feel like you are in a chic bistro in France. I highly recommend,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZsaZsa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horseheads, New York
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“nothing to write home about”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went for dinner with my family. The wine list was very short for a wine bar and the one wine that we choose wasn't available and the substitute wasn't very good. The meals were ok, the tenderloin was a bit overcooked as was the pasta. Not a bad meal, but not really a memorable one either.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Memmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finchs Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing