We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, large portions” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Carlos Taco Shop

Don Carlos Taco Shop
Ranked #50 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast food, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, large portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Small place good for a quick, post-beach bite or some fast take-out. Good food, though nothing spectacular. Shredded chicken and beef tacos were yummy and quesadillas had the right ratio of meat to cheese (though it appeared to be a cheddar-type cheese, which was sort of a letdown). Decent deal for the portions they serve. Lots of choices on the menu!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RunwiththisMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“they put fries in their burritos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

need i say more? THEY PUT FRIES IN THEIR BURRITOS. absolutely genius.

if you have a smallish appetite, you probably could split a burrito with someone, they are pretty huge.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wunderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
158 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great local spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We loved Don Carlos Taco Shop! They have excellent prices for huge servings. He even has a secret menu you can ask for. We had their nachos, which was mixed with french fries-amazing! Ryan, the owner, was so friendly. We were impressed by how delicious the food was and even more so by the low prices! This is a great spot to eat lunch before heading to La Jolla Cove!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurelsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best tamales in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I am normally a burrito or taco guy, but this place has the most amazing tamales. Don't get me wrong, the tacos and burritos are great, so are the nachos, but you have to try the tamales.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank snakebyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hugest burritos ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I love this place. We are "locals" so we go all the time and it's always good. It's authentic and the burritos are two meals (at least) for me and even my husband thinks they are huge. He's a fan of the carnitas and I love the veggie burrito. Fish tacos/burritos are also wonderful and they are known for their tamales. Go back often... The owner, Ryan, is so friendly and so supportive of the local schools and sports teams.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vkrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Carlos Taco Shop also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Don Carlos Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing