We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.00*
and up
La Jolla Cave Snorkeling Tour
Ranked #1 of 77 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: San Diego's most desirable spot for swimming, diving and snorkeling. The water is calm and the cove is ecologically protected. There is also a world famous dive site that is located in the La Jolla ecological preserve.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Love the seals, the walks and the atmosphere of la jolla. Loads of picture opportunities of the cliffs, wildlife and beach!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,542
    2,076
    407
    106
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We arrived at 8.30 on a Sunday morning. Parking on the street was easy and no limit on time where we parked. We wandered down on the beach with the seals. A young lad was in the water with them. You can get close to the seals in their natural environment and watch them play in the water or just sleep. We wandered along the front. Amazing scenery. We were so lucky to see several Grey Whales lolling about and spurting water. A must see and magical experience .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aileen8_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Seal city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

La Jolla cove is a small beach set in amongst the dramatic cliffs of the La Jolla shore line. The magic part is the small walk through a tunnel that can (if the seals play ball) allow you to sit on the rocks out at sea with a close up view of seal life and a view all the way back down the coast. It really is a magic spot and great for pictures. You have to get there when the tide is low though otherwise there is too much water in the tunnel to make your way through. The seals on the right day can also be playing or lounging on the rocks above the cove - and this does make an easy photo opportunity and great fun as the seals dissipate when a big wave hits!

The benches on the rocks overlooking the cove and sea are also a wonderful spot for people watching and soaking up some sun. This really is a lovely spot to while away an hour or so and if you are brave head out into the pacific for a swim - without a wet suit tho - chilly!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
256 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We went early evening. Shops had closed. Bay is nice and you can watch the seals and pelicans. Lots of human activity as well. Watch the lifeguards dealing with errant humans diving off the rocks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhilipJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
해밀턴
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to be !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

It was just fantastic !! Beautiful scenery ! I could really get close to wild life as well. This is the must place if you are around San Diego. The only complain I can think of was car parking.....It was hard for me to find a car park so I parked my car near the gate of private house......!!

Helpful?
Thank kiwipurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Jolla Cove also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing