We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, beach and seals!”
Review of La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
La Jolla Cave Snorkeling Tour
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Advanced La Jolla Segway Tour
More Info
US$149.00*
and up
Coastal Tour of San Diego
Ranked #1 of 77 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: San Diego's most desirable spot for swimming, diving and snorkeling. The water is calm and the cove is ecologically protected. There is also a world famous dive site that is located in the La Jolla ecological preserve.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, beach and seals!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

After the controversy between using the area as a children's park or home for seals, it looks as though they've reached a compromise. The seals have settled in, but there were several people taking advantage of the beautiful beach area. Worth a visit for the views.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cantante53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,284
    2,335
    451
    115
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is so beautiful, with the seals..and the ocean... loved it will be returning.. can get very crowded on the weekends..but there is a reason..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Smelly - hot - overun with tourists and kayaks!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

La Jolla used to be one of our favorite spots! No more! Parking is a nightmare and the place is simply overrun! It has been "loved" to death! Quite a few of the shops on the main drag are empty! No wonder! We can't imagine the high end residents wasting their time contending with the crowds! The Cove is being beaten to death with packs of tourists. I can't understand why the sea lions still come here. There are far fewer than in the past! Stay away!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better than I expected”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had a blast at la jolla! I loved the little drive to get to the beach, going through all the cute houses and seeing families riding bikes all over the place. We explored the tide pools which seemed lame at first but somehow we really had fun and spent hours searching for little crabs and cool shells. The seals were out catching some sun and lots of other tourists were out on the beach. Gorgeous views of the ocean and a great way to relax on the beach!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Seals!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

While visiting in San Diego, I mentioned to my cousin how I couldn't wait to go to north Cali to see seals. To my surprise, she directed me to La Jolla Cove, and oh my, I was in seal heaven. I went later in the afternoon, 4ish, parking was relatively easy, and the weather was still nice. You are able to walk down the stairs to get "close" to the seals or up the cliff to get a over head view of them. Up on the cliff, they do smell, but not down on the stairs. There was a seal who was "posing" and "dancing" for the crowd. Honestly didn't go anywhere else but here for the seals, but shopping in the area looked good as well as plenty of places to eat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeandTabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Jolla Cove also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing