We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the seals.”

La Jolla Shores Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.98*
and up
San Diego Surf Lessons
Ranked #3 of 77 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mile-long beach features gentle waves during the summer months, making this spot a prime spot for novice scuba divers.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the seals.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I love LaJolla. The seals are so cool to look at. I went a little to late the sun went down and it was hard to see them. Eat at smash burger!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meesher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,425
    651
    123
    21
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful cliffside walk”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We loved La Jolla, lovely walks along the cliffs next to all the beaches, including the beach with the seals, and the beach with the huge surfing waves.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greekislandlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overcrowded”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is an average beach. Some positives is that their is free parking and a grassy area which is nice to eliminated sand in your food. Besides that, it is overcrowded, bathrooms are disgusting, and their are many leopard sharks in the area. We saw one about 4 feet long in water about chest deep.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annabellla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We arrived at La Jolla Shores about midday - bad idea!!! There is only 1 small parking lot close to the beach which was already full on arrival. There are also many residential streets close by for parking.

However once in, this really is a fantastic beach. We did visit on a weekend so it was really busy, the beach was full of people and difficult to find a spot. It was clean and the water was the perfect temperature.

There is also a nice park next to the beach with restrooms close by.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very relaxing.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Wonderful location, we look forward to many returns. Great selection of restaurants nearby. Traffic was heavy, but area worth the hassle.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank psychemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Jolla Shores Park also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Shores Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing