We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sands Of La Jolla
Nearby Hotels
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$281
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
10
30
17
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
30
17
10
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A few years ago we turned up at 3am to the sands of La Jolla. The management were welcoming. The beds were comfortable and price was unbeatable. We have stayed at 5 star hotels and private resorts. We enjoyed our experience so much that we are going back tomorrow and staying for the weekend. When calling, the staff had a pleasant tone / manner and we are looking forward to our visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michaela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We checked out quite a few hotels in this La Jolla area and most were expensive. As we were travelling on a budget for 3 weeks , we were looking for value.

The rooms were average sized, but were bright and had balconies. Decor was somewhat dated, but clean.

There was no breakfast available at this hotel and staff were not particularly welcoming or helpful.

All in all good price for the area, but definitely no frills!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this budget motel in LaJolla. I was expecting worse and I actually got better. There was cable TV, a microwave and fridge, the beds were very comfortable, there were products for bathing and shampooing. The room seemed quite clean overall. I only stayed for one night but it was very satisfactory for its price point. I've stayed at Best Westerns which were much more worn out and tacky, and charged alot more. The hotel is small, but seems to be well-maintained. I didn't find the outside particularly unappealing, like some reviewers claimed. The pool looked quite nice, but I didn't have time to use it. The front desk person was friendly and helpful and the hotel is located down the road (only a block or two) from a shopping and dining area. This is a good budget motel with more amenities than you would suppose for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenkins_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I hated this hotel. I was afraid to sleep in the bed, it didn't look clean. The room was definitely not clean, I'm not sure it was even vacuumed. I didn't want to use the shower. There was no air conditioning, no continental breakfast, no hair dryer. The sink was next to the outside door and there wasn't even a hook to hang your towel on after washing your hands. The desk clerk didn't seem to know anything or care, either. Maybe I got one of the worst rooms but I think if I had thought it was clean, I wouldn't have cared so much about everything else. But the soles of my feet were black after walking on the carpet for a few minutes. That was really disturbing . There was no kitchenette in my room or a sofa. If you're going to rent one of the least favorable rooms in the motel, you shouldn't be charging a hundred dollars. I would never recommend this motel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Good location, comfortable bed, microwave and fridge in room, pool was also nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moncure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews