We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in La Jolla”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Estancia was a great escape from the hustle of San Diego yet was so accessible to I-5 to head south to the city or north to Carlsbad. Or, it was perfectly fine to stay in La Jolla. The property is beautiful, with relaxing gardens featuring many cacti and succulents. Green space abounds. The spa is small but charming and the services were good. I didn't like the "Shall I add 20% gratuity to your bill?" leading question upon my checkout from spa. A bit pushy. And, the self park option was not evident, thus forcing me to valet park (for additional $). I did raise this issue and they removed the valet charge but still parked the car for me. Nicely handled but still left me wondering "where is the self-park?" Lots of families were present (small children) which the many grassy greens were nice for little legs to run. There are lots of quiet private common areas as well. All in all, I give this an A.

Room Tip: A courtyard room gives a charming view of the inner gardens but exterior rooms are also quite nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

More or less Estancia is just average. Some parts are nice but some parts are worn. The mattress was not very comfortable and the pillows were very lumpy. The room had a flat screen TV but no HD. The inner courtyard was nice but why only one chair on your patio or balcony? The rooms are overpriced and my newspaper was two days old. I rate Estancia at 3 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreatTraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

the hotel is beautiful and loved the courtyards but if you are on the bottom floor there was alot of noise from the people above, all 3 nights it sounded like elephants above us and we heard when they came in and when they left! We could also hear the tv next door that was left on till 3am and the noisy airconditoner that came on frequently blocked some of the tv noise... The valet service was excellent and we did enjoy the margaritas but at 10 dollars a bit expensive. The beds were very comfortable and bathrooms just ok (one sink and not enough counter space). The pool area is nice and well kept and it is a drive to go into town for dinners.

Room Tip: stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wineloversandimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This sounded like such a great deal. Reality began at check-in when we were told we had an extra $17 per day charge, unadvertised, for "resort amenities" - presumably water and wifi in the room. Find our room (130) was also an experience in frustration. We were told to park by the pool, but the signage inside the hallways was nonexistent - we were lost in a confusing maze of hallways - dragging our luggage through the entire length of the hotel to the one set of elevators, and then back again to our room, which, while well appointed, felt much like being in a cave. You may think that a hotel in La Jolla might have views or beach access, but you would be wrong. There is neither. There is a nice heated pool and spa. Small Margaritas by the pool run you $10 each. The best thing was their breakfast buffet. While not cheap at $20, it was very good food and a nice atmosphere. This is a high priced property. We got a deal that was half off the advertised rates, and it ended up being too much for what we got. Unless you are visiting UCSD (across the street) or have a conference here, I recommend staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor (100 numbers) and don't pay extra for a "veranda" room - it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedHawkDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The breakfast from yesterday was not cleared up until this morning. Our rooms would just not get serviced. There were wedding ceremony on 2 days out of the 4 we were there, right outside our courtyard facing rooms. And I thought we were going to a quiet place to relax. It was disappointing. The service at the restaurant was also poor too. When I complained, they deducted the breakfast which they had left in the room. I feel quiet irritated that they think ruining my vacation = a breakfast. Everyone is polite, but the service level is just not there. It is a pretty place if not ruined with the traffic from the weddings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sibrina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. The valet staff were first class all the way, doing everthing possible to help us plan our day. I would hope that in the future they would keep kids out of the hot tub, and I thought it was kind of cheap that the resort fee $17.00 a day, got you free coffee in the morning but you had to pay $3.50 for a cup of tea, really how much can a tea bag cost. those were my only neg. issues. Yes I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Classic old California structures coupled with today’s cuisine and world class service – that’s the Estancia package. This was the first time we had stayed and it was because service in the hotel we had regularly used had deteriorated so badly. Now, Estancia will be the hotel of choice in the area. From the valet greeting at driving up, to the friendliness of the front desk to the in-room amenities; all were world class. Three of us ate in the Bodega Wine Bar, which is somewhat quieter than the Mustangs and Burros (which has a pleasant outdoor patio), although the same food can be served. The smaller plates were both delicious and adequate for all other than the most aggressive appetites. In particular, the Ahi tower was the freshest and enjoyed by all. Interestingly, the barkeep introduced us to a San Diego made gin and then had to retrieve a second bottle. The Malbec was well priced and perfectly temperature. It can be a long walk from the reception and bar areas to the rooms. Reception is on the highest room level and other floors are lower than the entry level. The Adobe Restaurant is not open for dinner. Well located, attractively priced and with great service Estancia La Jolla offers a winning combination.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22club58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
1.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,012 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £196 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing