We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My La Jolla San Diego Business Trip that felt like a vacation at a luxurious spa hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you are a picky traveler like me, you are reading a lot of Trip Adviser reviews and may be debating about where to stay in La Jolla or in San Diego in general. I was here on business for 3 days so where I stayed was important. Also was doing business in La Jolla so this hotel was convenient and also to top rated. I debated between this place and The Lodge at Torrey Pines (which from the pictures looked dark and depressing) or Grand Colonial La Jolla (which is near shops and beach). I was overjoyed with my choice of Estancia and my 3 day business trip felt more like a 3 day vacation in an exotic, relaxing spa resort. let me note I did not have a car so I was content hanging at the hotel when not in meetings.
Estancia scored high on all essential elements of a my hotel experience. Property was beautiful – and not too big or commercial like many high end resort chains are. You really felt special here because there are only 200 or so room, buildings are only 3 or 4 floors high. The landscaping flowers and gardens are magnificent and it is peaceful and serene to just walk between the buildings. I saw lilies and orchids I never see in backyard gardens. Felt like i was on an exotic island somewhere.

While there are only two restaurants on the property, both were tasty and convenient – breakfast was very good and you have the option of a lovely buffet or a la carte off the menu – buffet is only $20 and a large variety of offerings. I ate Dinner at the outdoor patio area of Mustangs and Burros restaurant (others chose to eat indoors) and it was ok – nothing to write home about but ambiance was nice. if I had a car, this would be a great place to have drinks before going out to a tastier place.
Pool is very nice – I like to swim laps so I appreciated the size of the pool and the fact that it is slightly heated to 80 degrees so I could swim in the morning when it was most peaceful. It is a salt water pool which is unusual but also nice – the Spa said it was therapeutic and good for the skin. Lots of lounge chairs and nice private cabanas plus a waitress that goes around taking people’s drinks and food orders. Family friendly but also great if you are there alone or with a partner. A few steps aware was a good workout room with all the up to date equipment

My room was lovely and the private balcony is a nice touch. I got a 2nd floor quiet room looking over the courtyard and i was very happy.

let me address some of the negative comments from other reviewers:
Rooms and sound – I didn’t have any issues and I am a light sleeper. Room was very quiet
Room key to get in buildings – no big deal. yes sometimes inconvenient but very easy to use – just make sure you have your key with you at all times
Room Linens - all very nice but yes i agree with the person re softness of sheets - maybe because they are cotton but i did find them itchy. with so much money spent on the hotel, splurge and buy some new softer sheets.
Re someone’s comments about splinters on wood – not sure what they are talking about – everything was new and I didn’t see any anywhere
Re cleanliness of room– impeccably clean and new. No complaints
Staff – all were great, especially the front desk team. There was no problem with slow service.
Overall an excellent choice if you are on business or pleasure in San Diego and La Jolla area. and if on business - you will feel like in between meetings you are also on vacation.

Room Tip: i took everyone's advice and got a 2 or 3rd floor looking over a courtyard. Don't get room l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesdeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

We cannot thank you enough for such a thorough review. We are so happy that you found our hotel to be the perfect fit for your business trip. From laps in the pool to Adobe El Restaurante’s breakfast buffet, it sounds like to you took full advantage of our amenities and offerings! Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Hopefully business will bring you back to La Jolla soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

this is a lovely property and the people who work there are very nice and accommodating. There is really lovely restaurant with a large outdoor eating area and large fire place this was wonderful it served Mexican gourmet food and great drinks. We felt like we were at a hacienda in Mexico the landscaping was amazing!! it seems to have an international crowd and a lot of PhD types from USD which was across the street but you would never know it. It is about three miles to La Jolla which we found insanely crowded and about 15 minutes from Torrey Pines which is where we choose to spend most of our time hiking and swimming. The beach there was amazing you could see you feet when at knee level in the ocean. Also there is a para glider port right next store which is another must see. This is a family friendly place but it is slower moving and relaxed. The spa is also amazing there!! Great place!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_VO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We’re glad that you found our location convenient for all of your La Jolla activities and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed Mustangs & Burros. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel for the most part.

The rooms are spacious and very nice. I felt the bed was comfy. Shower was great. Everything would expect from a quality hotel.

The grounds are also very nice. Well kept. The pool was great. The jacuzzi was nice and hot.

Overall, the service was excellent. I cannot really say anything bad about that.

My only bad comments towards the property is as follows:
I found it very annoying you had to use your key card to get in every single building. I just do not understand why? It felt like FBI headquarters at times or something. I can understand needing to it get in the hotel or what not, but having to use it in every single building is not warranted. Also some doors didnt work at all.
I also found it easy to get lost there. Not sure why, but the lay out is a bit confusing at times.
Lastly, $25 to park and a $18 resort fee seem a bit too expensive. I dont mind paying for valet parking. But $25 is quite a lot in my mind. And I also dont feel that I got my moneys worth for that nonnegotiable resort fee. I know thats the way it is at higher end places but it just seemed like a lot.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and stay here again. It was nice, quiet, great location, very hospitable, and comfortable. It is certainly a worthwhile option in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard. Otherwise you have a view of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bractune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Estancia in late July after going back and forth on whether to stay in Coronado or La Jolla. The great deal offered through the website with a Costco membership is what convinced us.

We ended up loving the location. With the amazing weather (cool mornings around 68-70 degrees, partly sunny), we loved jogging/walking the local roads and trails to the cliffs and beach each morning. It was a fantastic way to start the day. Torrey Pines Reserve was very close as was Blacks Beach (within 0.25-0.5 miles). A drive to Coronado for the amazing beaches only ended up taking 20 minutes and was well worth it, too.

The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was included every morning with the Costco rate. This was appreciated with the resort fees and valet fee. Valet was always very quick, asked if we needed directions, waters, etc.

Overall, the feel of this resort was intimate and special. We plan on staying again next summer. The only thing we regret is not planning enough time before dinner to check out the wine bar.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndseyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Purchased the room with the costco discount which included $30 breakfast credit per night (well worth it!)
I Came with my husband and 1 yr old child.

Pro:
1. Beautiful grounds- nicely maintained, beautiful buildings
2. Great breakfast-we ended up spending only $7 on top of the $30 credit and the food is brought to your room
3. staff was extremely friendly and helpful
4. Good location- away from lots of traffic and the city. Doesn't feel like you're in a hotel
5. Nice little workout facility

Cons:
1. Thin walls- early one morning, we were awakened by the couple next door arguing
2. Splinters- The entryway of the room has a worn wooden strip that had lots of wooden splinters on the ground ( great for my toddler walking around barefoot!)
3. Unclean floors- the first night we were there, we found an old contact lense and band aide wrapper on the carpet (also great for my 1yr old son to pick up and play with)

Overall, nice place for the cost, just wish some of the smaller details were tended to...like vacuuming!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent our anniversary weekend here. The grounds are beautiful. The staff was exceptional. They went above and beyond by providing a "Nordstrom" atmosphere. We received complimentary champagne upon our arrival. There were a few mishaps that were easily fixed.
The resort is located by Glider's Point and across from UCSD. We took a cab ride to Del Mar and bar hopped at some of the beach restaurants.
We rented Cabana number 6 by the pool. It was an enjoyable, relaxing stay.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would get an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mchatt92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share the details about your recent stay. It sounds like you had a lot of fun, and we’re so glad you stayed with us and enjoyed our location, service and amenities. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed from 10th-13th July. Rooms are really nice, spacious and clean.The pool area is nice but the bar and grill were closed early on a few days because they said it was to quiet, what about the 10-12 people still around the pool, there was 4 of us and we went to get food when we arrived by the pool at 4pm to be told it was closed.We had to order down from the main kitchen.We had a meal in the Mustang restaurant.It was so dark we had to go outside to read the menu,we asked for more light and were brought a lamp which did not help.Overall the meal was dissapointing and we did not eat there again.We took the buffet breakfast which was fine , our friends took theirs off the menu and had a 20min wait.Beautiful hotel no mistake but service was poor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishtraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for the comments about our guest rooms- we’re glad you found them to be quite nice, spacious and clean. I’m sorry that we missed you and your friends at the Pool Bar & Grill, it typically closes at around 4:00 or 5:00 depending on business demands, but hopefully you were able to order through in-room dining. I will also be sure to pass along your comments about the lighting and breakfast delay to our Food & Beverage Team. Thank you again for your feedback which helps our team learn and become better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £196 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing