We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,637)
Filter reviews
1,637 results
Traveller rating
912
414
173
91
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
414
173
91
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mustangs and burros adobe restaurant hospitality fee salk institute wine bar beautiful grounds san diego outdoor fireplace resort fee self parking per day beautiful hotel ucsd campus pool area is upon check torrey pines valet service
Filter
Updating list...
847 - 852 of 1,637 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Estancia is a lovely hotel with manicured grounds. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel itself is a bit of a maze and the staff are not very helpful in directing you to your room. We finally found our rooms and by the end of our stay we felt we finally knew where we were going.

The restaurant where breakfast was served was chaotic. You had to wait 20 to 30 minutes to be seated even though there were many empty tables. Menu prices were average for a hotel. The server couldn't seem to get the order correct and it was 45 minutes before our food arrived. Unfortunately, we were not the only customers unhappy with the service. We could hear complaints from many of the tables. The excuse was a computer problem.

We would probably stay at the hotel again but we will definitely make arrangements to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalFrancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback regarding the guest rooms and grounds, and we’re so happy that you enjoyed the new beds. The hotel’s unique layout can certainly come across as a maze at first- just remember that you actually enter the property on the third level! We apologize for your dining experience at Adobe El Restaurante and will follow up with the food and beverage team. We are happy to hear that you plan to stay with us again and we look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

You will not regret your stay at La Estancia. Try it! It is an amazing property with full-on spa services and dining options! The property is so nice that you can stay here the entire time and feel relaxed and pampered :)

Service is great and the hotel is clean and maintained very well.

I book this hotel every year!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliGirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Estancia La Jolla was an awesome get away and amazing place!!! I'm definitely planning another trip with my family. The amenities within the hotel where perfect and can’t wait to take my children to spend quality time with them. You can also drive down town within minutes and there’s restaurants, bars, stores, dealers, and so much to do that I can’t list everything. I highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for posting such a great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Estancia is one of the larger hotel properties near Torrey Pines golf course. It does not have an ocean view however. The rooms a nice, but not plush. The balconies are tiny - with one chair. Over all, the hotel is a nice place too stay, but not what it could be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review from your stay in July. You are correct in that the hotel is not set on the ocean, but our rancho-inspired property is certainly very close. We hope you found the pathway along the West Lawn that brings you to the stunning ocean views at the Salk Institute where you can often spot paragliders from the nearby gliderport. If we have the opportunity to serve you again, please do not hesitate to call and ask for a second chair for your balcony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We booked based on previous reviews and we like to stay in boutique hotels for something a bit different and a bit nicer than your average hotel. The buildings and surroundings are very nice. Reception staff are helpful, if not a little direct sometimes but overall quite good. Housekeeping were very good. However, we felt very let down by a) the quality of food here and b) the dining service is just dreadful. We booked 2 rooms with balconies for 6 nights so it wasn't as if we were here for a just couple of meals here. The service was consistently slow, mistakes made in orders, confusion over orders and servers who seemed to disappear whenever you needed them so we had to find our own silverware etc. The final straw came when we booked a table at 530pm with our 3 young children at their thanksgiving buffet. We sat next to 3 other tables with children, none of whom were perfect by any means. However, the "manager" found it necessary to talk firmly and quietly to us about our "noisy baby". Needless to say, the manager found himself on the receiving end of a short sharp conversation with my husband with the promise of a complaint to his manager. Our "noisy" 1 year old had been sat quite happily shaking his plastic water bottle against a wooden table and couldn't be heard above the ipad being played on the table behind us, the two boys running around the restaurant or the other table whose baby was crying. Really?! Family aside, even if it was just us booking this place as a couple I wouldn't rate the quality of food at all. It's ok, perfectly edible but nothing special that the other reviews talk about. The facilities and grounds are nice and I can't review the spa as I didn't use it. Finally, this hotel lacks the little things that make a difference. No information in the rooms about spa services, minimal poor quality toiletries, no newspapers in the lobby, inconsistent attitude between staff (some were super friendly where others were very clearly having a bad day!) etc. Would we recommend to other families wishing to travel to high end hotels, no.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lochsunart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide feedback. We appreciate your positive comments about our property as well as the Front Office and Housekeeping staff. With regard to your dining experiences over the weekend, I would like to apologize and let you know that I have shared your review with the Food & Beverage Director and our Executive Chef. They will follow up with their teams and revisit policies and training as needed. We wish you and your family a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews