We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Very Nice, But Staff Needs Better Training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just completed my second stay at this resort. The place is beautiful and elegant, but still relaxed; the climate is perfect, the location is great - close enough to La Jolla Village and Del Mar, but removed enough to feel away from throngs of tourists and bad traffic. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable, with quality amenities like bottled Voss Water and spa- quality bath products. There is a small work-out room, steam, outdoor hot tub and pool [jammed with loud, obnoxious kids and over-indulgent parents during this holiday-week visit - oh and we did see some towels left to dry over balconies - not the hotel's fault, just guests who thought they were at a beach motel instead of a quality resort]; and a fancy spa which I didn't use because the prices were just way too high. The dining rooms serve very good food and there is a great selection of wines available by glass or bottle along with full bar in the restaurant. There are also many comfie 'corners' around the property to sit and read a book, enjoy a gas fire place (there are several) and just relax. It's a beautiful place.

Unfortunately the staff was just a bit 'off' - while this place tries to present itself [especially through its ownership as a Meritage Collection property] as 5 star, the staff just isn't quite up to it. There were too many little slip-ups - very slow service at breakfast, some major 'clusters' with the valet [mandatory valet parking at this place, and it takes patience], a maid opening our door despite the do not disturb sign being out, a long wait [when we were trying to leave for an outing] to get maintenance people up to fix the in-room safe that wasn't working [I really wanted to protect some jewelry before heading out], and just other such slightly off performance. And it took a ridiculously long time to check out when we finally left.

Oh, and our final morning there, after having a hard work out, we went back to the room to find there was no hot water - a boiler issue. They did refund the daily resort fee and parking fee as compensation, which we appreciated.

One notable stand-out on the staff was a waiter named Felipe who served us dinner in the Mustangs and Burros on-premise restaurant. He was REALLY good - cared deeply about the wines, was very knowledgeable about them, provided excellent service with a great attitude. We envisioned he aspires to a career in the industry as his passion for it shows. To many others on the grounds, it felt like just a job. In fairness, I think everyone was well-intentioned about providing us with a good stay. I think it's more of a training and polish issue. With a bit more care and discipline from Management, the team could be up-leveled to the that of a great resort.

I would have preferred to rate this hotel 3.5 here on Trip Advisor, but that option wasn't available so I opted to round up rather than down. All in all, I recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a courtyard or garden view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you so much for all of the great feedback and compliments on the quality of our guest rooms, restaurants, location, and landscape. We also appreciate you recognizing Felipe as an outstanding member of our team- in fact we shared your comments with the entire Food & Beverage team! With regard to your service comments, we will certain follow up with the respective team members. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, as we take great pride in providing exceptional service. We are terribly sorry about the lack of hot water on your last morning, please know that we have identified the issue and are taking steps to ensure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Went here for a family wedding this past weekend. Was very well pleased with the room and the entire staff was most excellent! The location is tucked in well. We were only here one night. Thinking of returning soon. The room was ready for us early which was good since we drove down from L.A. And were ready for a refresher. The valet was included with our price. The front desk was very friendly. We didn't get a chance to try any if the restaurants but they all looked good. If you're in the area I highly recommend staying here. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rubenski777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for such a great review. We are so glad to hear that you are thinking of returning soon. Feel free to follow us on Social Media to stay up-to-date on promotions that may be of interest to you for your upcoming stay. We appreciate you posting the review and recommending our hotel to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A lush, tropical oasis retreat in the middle of the city, the staff at The Estancia made you feel like a first-class guest at all times.
Prompt service, great amenities, friendly staff at every turn.
Surprisingly, a great vacation spot for families, as well!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walt6633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review and for the compliments about our staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Came here for a Novemeber Wedding and couldn't have been happier. The gardens are amazing, food was solid at the restaurant and the pool was relaxing. The staff was attentive and helpful, Overall I would reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delgazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for recommending our hotel and thank you for posting such a nice review. We’re glad that you enjoyed your time at the pool and your experience at our restaurant. We hope you will visit again soon and perhaps you will have a chance to enjoy the spa and some of our other amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Lovely hotel with comfortable rooms, nicely decorated and good beds. The gardens on the property are beautiful and well worth exploring. Pretty pool area, small gym.

Morning coffee service is unfortunate, barely adequate--an offering of fruit would have made a healthy and welcome simple addition after working out & in keeping with the resort fee.

The hotel is next door to Salk Institute and ten minutes walk to gliderport, for all other destinations you will want a car.

Note: the buildings are arranged lodge-style and you need your key to get back to the lobby area, to the spa, etc. Also, the layout of hotel is somewhat confusing because lobby is on top floor, so follow signs carefully. The beauty of the property makes up for the initial confusion, however.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room and the new beds. We apologize for your experience with the morning coffee service, I will be sure to follow up on this. Thank you for the praise about our property and the gardens. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We loved our family stay at this location. We never left except to get swim suits we forgot to pack. We had a fabulous veranda with courtyard view that I enjoyed from the chair.

November was a bit chilly for using the pool but the hot tub was great. Bring your room towel or stop at the concierge for a towel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caraibespourmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank for choosing our hotel and for posting this great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, including your guest room and the hot tub. We hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Estancia La Jolla is wonderful hotel. It was the perfect place to stay for a weekday getaway for my girlfriend and I. The front desk staff were friendly and courteous and were very generous with their time when we needed directions. We enjoyed the beautiful hotel property and enjoyed an awesome, refreshing walk every morning. The only downside was valet parking and not having quick access to our car when needed for our last minute excursions or quick trip to the store. However, the valet and bellman service were the best! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for the great comments and for recognizing our staff for their outstanding service. We are so happy to hear that you took advantage of our surrounding areas and enjoyed morning walks every day. We are glad to hear that you plan to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
1.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
978 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £193 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing