We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gardens - would be perfect for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens - would be perfect for a wedding”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I had the chance to stay two nights at this hotel while my partner attended a seminar at the hotel. I have to say that the service here is definitely top notch. The valets up front were really efficient. The rooms and grounds are well tended to. The night I arrived, guests sat beside the outdoor fireplace enjoying a glass of wine in good company. The next morning, I soaked up the sun in the gardens and imagined just how lovely it would be to have a wedding at this resort. Had I had a little more time, I would've surely enjoyed their heated pool and spa services.

Brunch at the Adobe restaurant was pretty good, but I wasn't blown away by the food. We peaked at their buffet brunch area and it offered a wide selection of foods, including an omelet station. I think this hotel would be perfect for a girlfriends weekend getaway or an intimate wedding.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Owner at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for mentioning the overall feeling Estancia brings! It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoyed the Southern Californian sun in our gardens. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on weddings. Our location is definitely a popular destination for couples to continue their love stories! Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    374
    145
    69
    35
See reviews for
306
478
54
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bellingham, wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My girlfriend and I had a 'spa weekend' and from start to finish Estancia was fabulous. The staff were friendly, the grounds were immaculate, the spa treatments met our needs (other than we don't like the hard sell at the end of treatment) and it was quiet. We ate in both nights as well as one cold buffet breakfast and we loved everything. And, we have high standards. We wandered around La Jolla Village the first day, did some antique shopping and then came back to relax. In a minute I would come back and I'd like to bring my husband next time. By the way, this was a holiday weekend (Feb. 14-16) and they handled all the traffic extremely well. Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teapotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We appreciate you giving praise to your entire experience including the staff, the grounds, the spa and the locale. Thank you for choosing Estancia as your 'spa weekend' and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here for a work event and was thoroughly impressed with the hotel grounds - from the road it looks very small, but upon entering it is a sprawling resort with great restaurants, helpful staff, and luxurious rooms. It definitely exceeded my expectations. The location is hard to beat as well, next to the Torrey Pines Gliderport and UCSD and just a short drive from the La Jolla Shores beach which is one of my favorites. I'd strongly recommend this place for business, couples getaways or families alike. Great resort!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the many aspects of our hotel including the locale, accommodations and the restaurants. Specifically, it is wonderful you mentioned the close proximity to fun and exciting things to do! Thank you again for your review and we appreciate your recommendation for other reviewers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This is what I'd call a typical, resort-type hotel. It's very nice and the service is excellent. What makes it better is the location. Just a short walk from the cliffs and ocean near Torrey Pines, just across the street from a college (UC-San Diego, I think). I wouldn't go here for a vacation but it's a great place to stay if you are in the area for business.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lrg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Estancia. We appreciate your mentions of our location and service. You highlighted locale details such as the short walk from the cliffs and ocean near Torrey Pines that many reviewers will find helpful! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Spanish hacienda look and plantings were a lovely surprise. My husband and I were there for a meeting and had an all-around enjoyable experience. As is normal, the hotel breakfast was a bit pricey, but with a refrigerator and coffee in the room, we managed to eat and not lose the farm. All employees were helpful, the place has a great vibe and we would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you very much for the 5-star review. We are pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your time with us. It is so terrific to hear you found us to have a great vibe! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I was a little skeptical that a stay here was anything but the typical corporate "nice" but, all the staff was friendly, helpfull and wore comfortable smiles. The grounds are relaxing and full of great touches. Had a great spa experiance, very good technique. The walk to the beach, you can short cut thru the Salk center(back walkway) also a lunch cart where you can get snacks at. Went paragliding had a awesome float above the beach and Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnrodney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review Estancia. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our grounds as well as our staff. We are certainly pleased you enjoyed your walk to the beach and getting a chance to go paragliding! We hope we can welcome you back to Estancia soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is so beautiful and so peaceful! The staff are world class professionals in warm hospitality, support and care of their guests. And the cuisine in ALL their restaurants is amazingly creative and fresh! We had a WONDERFUL stay.

Room Tip: Veranda rooms have a great view. All the rooms are sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetinTemecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear JanetinTemecula- Thank you very much for choosing Estancia La Jolla for your anniversary stay! We appreciate your lovely compliments about our staff and restaurants. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back for many more anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing