We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The grounds of the Estancia are by far the highlight of the hotel. Immaculately kept and a reminder of California's splendor. Another highlight is the hotel's restaurants. La Jolla is not lacking in food options but the hotel's restaurants can compete. The Heuvos Rancheros at the Adobe restaurant are a great way to start your day in San Diego. The one drawback of the hotel was that valet is the only option for parking your car. This is completely fine but the tipping can put a drain on your wallet if your staying multiple days and and use your car often.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Estancia. We truly appreciate your mention of our hotel as part of California's splendor. Thank you taking the time to leave us a review and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    379
    152
    73
    37
See reviews for
314
489
55
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I just spent 3 nights at the Estancia while at a conference at UCSD. I can't comment on the location because it was perfect for me for the conference (but I have no idea if you are vacationing). I have to say that the Estancia was just amazing. The service was great; the room was spacious and well equipped; the mattress was really really comfortable; the grounds were beautiful. I have nothing bad to say, and I really loved this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonTraveller912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Owner at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest for the UCSD conference. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found our service, room, grounds and mattress to your liking! And yes, the mattresses are quite blissful! Please come back and visit us soon- perhaps for a vacation! We are indeed centrally located to many beautiful destinations and popular attractions for our vacationing travelers. Have a great rest of the weekend! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

As luck would have it, I recently discovered the luxurious Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, located on the cliffs between La Jolla and Del Mar. Taking in the scenery during a relaxing stroll along the beautifully landscaped pathways meandering throughout this 10-acre property, I quickly realized that this resort pays homage to the classic hacienda style architecture which is so indicative of southern California’s colorful heritage. Adobe style buildings, red-tile roofs, ornate ironwork and handsomely crafted wood casings, railings and balconies tucked between stately pines, palm trees and native landscaping make for a spectacular and intimate escape! The soothing sound of water splashing in several ornamental fountains can be heard throughout the property. The Estancia is one of four luxury California resorts in the Meritage Collection. Shortly after it opened in 2004,this AAA four-diamond luxury hotel and spa was listed by Condé Nast as one of the “Hottest New Hotels of the World”. More recently the Estancia received a Condé Nast 2012 award as “One of the Top Spas in the World” and was a TripAdvisor “2013 Certificate of Excellence Winner”. One visit here was all the proof I needed that the accolades are well deserved! For a full review of this incredibly fantastic resort and other vacation destinations, visit TravelRAVE at http://travelrave.wordpress.com

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Owner at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We took some time and read through the rest of your blog as well. It was wonderful reading all of the highlights you touched on about Adobe El Restaurante, The Spa at Estancia, Trinitas Cellars Wine Bar and Mustangs and Burros- thank you for mentioning The Meritage Collection as well. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I had the chance to stay two nights at this hotel while my partner attended a seminar at the hotel. I have to say that the service here is definitely top notch. The valets up front were really efficient. The rooms and grounds are well tended to. The night I arrived, guests sat beside the outdoor fireplace enjoying a glass of wine in good company. The next morning, I soaked up the sun in the gardens and imagined just how lovely it would be to have a wedding at this resort. Had I had a little more time, I would've surely enjoyed their heated pool and spa services.

Brunch at the Adobe restaurant was pretty good, but I wasn't blown away by the food. We peaked at their buffet brunch area and it offered a wide selection of foods, including an omelet station. I think this hotel would be perfect for a girlfriends weekend getaway or an intimate wedding.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Owner at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for mentioning the overall feeling Estancia brings! It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoyed the Southern Californian sun in our gardens. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on weddings. Our location is definitely a popular destination for couples to continue their love stories! Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellingham, wa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My girlfriend and I had a 'spa weekend' and from start to finish Estancia was fabulous. The staff were friendly, the grounds were immaculate, the spa treatments met our needs (other than we don't like the hard sell at the end of treatment) and it was quiet. We ate in both nights as well as one cold buffet breakfast and we loved everything. And, we have high standards. We wandered around La Jolla Village the first day, did some antique shopping and then came back to relax. In a minute I would come back and I'd like to bring my husband next time. By the way, this was a holiday weekend (Feb. 14-16) and they handled all the traffic extremely well. Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teapotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We appreciate you giving praise to your entire experience including the staff, the grounds, the spa and the locale. Thank you for choosing Estancia as your 'spa weekend' and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here for a work event and was thoroughly impressed with the hotel grounds - from the road it looks very small, but upon entering it is a sprawling resort with great restaurants, helpful staff, and luxurious rooms. It definitely exceeded my expectations. The location is hard to beat as well, next to the Torrey Pines Gliderport and UCSD and just a short drive from the La Jolla Shores beach which is one of my favorites. I'd strongly recommend this place for business, couples getaways or families alike. Great resort!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the many aspects of our hotel including the locale, accommodations and the restaurants. Specifically, it is wonderful you mentioned the close proximity to fun and exciting things to do! Thank you again for your review and we appreciate your recommendation for other reviewers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This is what I'd call a typical, resort-type hotel. It's very nice and the service is excellent. What makes it better is the location. Just a short walk from the cliffs and ocean near Torrey Pines, just across the street from a college (UC-San Diego, I think). I wouldn't go here for a vacation but it's a great place to stay if you are in the area for business.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lrg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Estancia. We appreciate your mentions of our location and service. You highlighted locale details such as the short walk from the cliffs and ocean near Torrey Pines that many reviewers will find helpful! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,083 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
945 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing