We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manhattan, Kansas, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel Ever”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Estancia in March for 3 nights. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel. First, the staff is the best we have ever encountered at any hotel. They were there for us. The valets and bell staff made us feel like part of the the Estancia family. The grounds are gorgeous and the room beautiful and clean. Our dog felt well taken care of too. Unfortunately, we did not eat meals here because we were taken care of by family in La Jolla but it looked good. We cannot say enough good things about our stay.

Room Tip: I think they are probably all good. We had an Estate Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Carol A- First and foremost, welcome to our Estancia family! Thank you very much for such a wonderful review and sharing your thoughts of your recent stay. We are so proud of our team and that they provided you with warm, exceptional service. Please allow us to welcome you again very soon!

Warm regards,

Shashi Poudyal
General Manager
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    377
    149
    70
    37
See reviews for
312
486
55
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa is a very well located hotel for anyone visiting the greater San Diego area. We flew into LAX and drove to La Jolla. The fact that it's just north of the city made it very practical.

The rooms (we took two) are very beautiful, comfortable and clean. The showers had perfect pressure and a nice view overlooking the pool.

The common areas, such as around the pool and the various corridors where not as clean as our rooms (trays would spend the day in front of a room) but overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

It's a big property that manages to appear smaller then it is. The staff was nice, especially Cory at the wine bar where we had a lot of fun.

The difference between this hotel and a five star property is in the very small details, such as asking for turn-down service, receiving it the first night but not the other following nights or that fact that there is no night light in the bathroom, which means that you have to open the full light at 2 am should you need to go.

Small details but...

In parting, note that it's very popular with weddings. You've been warned; ask for a room far from the reception hall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcf2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear lcf2001- I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Your mention of our locale and proximity to Los Angeles is wonderful. We are indeed centrally located to many popular Southern California cities, I appreciate your feedback to this regard. Thank you for your kind words and I will certainly share your feedback with Cory and the team. I have also taken note of your specific concerns. We do indeed offer full turn-down service each evening available upon request. Thank you again.

Warm regards,

Shashi Poudyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed at Estancia with my family over a recent weekend and was continually impressed with both the property and employees who truly made our stay a most memorable experience.
The valets / bell staff were polite and attentive to us upon arrival and made sure we were comfortable and aware of every available amenity.
The restaurant staff could not have been more pleasant (with each meal and different staff members) and as we have a 1 yr old daughter she was made to feel most welcome wherever we went on property.
We will certainly return in the near future and look forward to again walking the beautiful and peaceful grounds.
Thanks Again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJW9821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear DJW9821- Thank you for not only choosing our hotel for your recent visit with your family, but also your 5-star review! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and allowing other travelers to hear about your stay. I speak for the entire team at Estancia in that we want all of our guest, both adults and children, to feel a sense of warmth and welcome when staying with us. I am so happy to hear your family felt this. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Shashi Poudyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Thank you for spoiling me Estancia team!
I felt welcomed, relaxed and taken care of from the moment I arrived to the moment I left.
My airy and clean room overlooked the luscious garden, the food at Mustang was simply delicious (those chips and salsa/guacamole to dye for) and the spa was a little paradise in itself.
Wish I could have stayed longer and can't wait to return!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: I loved the main floor, parallel to the resort frotn desk, with a balcony overlooking the inner lusc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc-vitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear nyc-vitti- Thank YOU for allowing us to spoil you! We strive to provide our guests with outstanding experiences and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. You mentioned some great points and it is wonderful to read your excitement!

Warm regards,

Shashi Poudyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful property. The grounds are nice to walk around, and it is a secluded, quiet resort. We came for a romantic weekend, and it was just what we needed. The couples bungalow at the spa was a great experience. There are several areas around the resort to sit outside and some areas with fireplaces for when it is chilly. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. However, we encountered several issues during our stay. First, if you are sensitive to noise, request a room on the top floor - we had a family with children above us and it was quite loud. We upgraded our room to the veranda - this a complete waste of money. We had one chair on a small concrete pad, butted up against a muddy slope. Also, the rooms with balconies include only one chair and are quite small. Overall the staff is friendly, but we called twice to get a bottle opener for the free bottle of wine and it never arrived. We had to also call twice for firmer pillows and once they finally arrived they were no firmer than we already had. The beds were comfortable, but we both awoke to terribly sore backs.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank familyof4SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear familyof4SoCal- Although I am pleased you enjoyed the majority of your time with us, I am sorry to hear you had some concerns. I am very sorry to read that you affected by noisy neighbors upstairs. Although we rarely receive this complaint, I know how undermining it can be to the overall guest experience. I feel confident that this was an isolated incident, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

I appreciate all of your feedback and will work to address the details with my team.

Thank you,

Shashi Poudyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. When we arrived I was a little disappointed because it has that pueblo look and I am used to big, glass and modern. However, I could not have been more pleased with everything about this resort. The rooms were well appointed and came with nice soft towels, bathrobes and a bottle of wine! Of course, we expected to get a bill for the wine so we didn't drink it and ended up leaving it in the room because it was 8 am on departure day before we realized it was complimentary! So be sure and drink your wine. We ate on property both nights and the food was outstanding. I am a chef and a particular foodie so that is saying a lot.

While we did not have time to properly explore all of the grounds we did take the time to admire all of the flowers and amazing succulent plants around the hotel. The staff could not have been more courteous and greeted us with a glass of champagne!

We will return to spend more time in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyShip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear LillyShip- I sincerely appreciate your 5-star review and taking the time to share your thoughts. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay. Your feedback was very valuable and we are honored, as you being a chef, you found our food outstanding! Please come back and visit us again soon so you have a chance to explore the rest of our hotel.

Warm regards,

Shashi Poudyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The personal were great as well as the restaurants,finding our room priceless. A little bit of a maze but a beautiful property. The pool area is nicely located but the spa needs a good scrub..... The sunday morning buffet was lovely with something for everyone. I definitely would return but be aware of extra expenses such as hospitality fee,valet parking, etc. Not for the New England thrifty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhaley_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Owner at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for all of your thoughts and taking the time to review the many aspects of our hotel. We sincerely thank you choosing Estancia La Jolla and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,048 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing