We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay, near UCSD and Salk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
254 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay, near UCSD and Salk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Walk to UCSD, Salk, and the La Jolla Glider Port - which makes it very convenient if you are going to any of these places. Rooms are nice. The property is sprawling and a bit confusing to navigate around. The beach is accessible, but only if you are in shape and can navigate down the cliff trail which is somewhat dangerous for the less than sure of foot. This makes it less than ideal for a vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A2freqtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent stay. Your feedback is truly valuable. We appreciate your feedback with regards to our proximity to UCSD, the Salk Institute and La Jolla Glider port; information that other travelers will certainly find useful when planning their travels to La Jolla. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    372
    143
    68
    35
See reviews for
305
476
53
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property. Beds are comfortable. Service by the staff was phenomenal. Breakfast was fantastic. Property restaurants were good enough with nice wine and cocktail selections. Rooms were quiet. Some good running trails near by. We loved our week here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank txnewlyweds411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay at Estancia La Jolla- and thank you for the mention of the wonderful running trails near by, we couldn't agree more! We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently had our daughter's wedding there and it was such a positive experience. The setting is amazing, the staff is exceptional and both the food they served at the reception and in the restaurant was delicious!
The valet staff made you feel like you were the only people staying there. They were so friendly and helpful, as well as the front desk employees. Our room was clean, quiet and decorated beautifully. The pool area is very well equipped and the pool clean and warm. I highly recommend the Estancia La Jolla.

Room Tip: Love room looking out to Garden Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
First and foremost, it was an absolute honor to have your daughter's wedding at our hotel. We understand how special and magical these special moments in life are- so we thank you for choosing us. Your review is wonderful to read and we will certainly share with the team! Thank you for taking the time to reach out via Trip Advisor. Cheers to many years of love and happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We only found this hotel halfway through our stay in La Jolla, and we wish we had found it sooner! A friend and I brought our teenage daughters to La Jolla in search of beach and pool time. The Estancia met all of our expectations. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, clean and well-kept, with a sparkling pool and a relaxing whirlpool. The rooms are pretty too, with newer tile baths and even a complimentary bottle of wine! The resort was so quiet and peaceful, it felt like we had stumbled upon a well-kept secret. The hotel is situated about a 5-10 minute drive from Torry Pines State Preserve, where there is a nice broad beach for swimming and exploring. You can also take a two mile walk to Black Beach, where the surf conditions are epic. I would say the one element of our stay that was less than excellent could be the food. The poolside lunch was pretty average. But our dinner at Mustangs & Burros was tastier. We much preferred this location to the hotels right in the village of La Jolla. Estancia felt more like a real getaway. We are already planning our next visit there!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socalfamily2699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share detailed thoughts from your stay in June 2013. Your 5-star review is much appreciated! We are pleased that you not only enjoyed your overall stay at Estancia La Jolla, but also you got a chance to experience the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Again, thank you for your review. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This property is First Class, we spent 3 night here in June 2013 and truly loved it. The check-in was quick and efficient, the bellman took us to our suite immediately, the room was large and extremely comfortable, we had a nice outdoor deck that overlooked a courtyard where 2 weddings took place during our stay. The bar and restaurant onsite were nice with great food and drink, room service was also quick and the food was hot.

This hotel is just 5 minutes from the Torrey Pines golf courses and the nicest option for your pre-round respite

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the courtyard still have a lot of privacy due to the shrubbery
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dufferme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing comments from your stay in August of 2013. As a top contributor to TripAdvisor we truly value you sharing your experience while staying at the Estancia La Jolla. your compliments are sincerely appreciated..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nestled next to the Salk Institute and UCSD buildings, this hotel is quiet and peaceful. It has a spa, meeting facilities, and accommodates parties and events (while we were there there were two meetings, a wedding, and a small party). The atmosphere is quite calm and relaxing. The food was tasty, and staff helpful. One thing to be mindful of, however, is that rooms seem to be cleaned on the late side - hence we could not check into our room until 4pm, and there were days in which the room hadn't been cleaned by early afternoon (and so if you want to hang out or work in your room in the later day, you'd probably forgo the service). The rooms are simply appointed, but in the end are comfortable enough. The hotel has free wifi in the rooms, which was reliable and relatively speedy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay at the Estancia La Jolla. As a top contributor to TripAdvisor your compliments mean a great deal to our team and are highly valued.We are very pleased that you found that atmosphere to be relaxing and that our staff was helpful and attentive. We hope that you will have a chance to visit the west coast and La Jolla more often..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The resort is very low, key. The entry looks almost like you have arrived at the back door. The service starts before you get out of your car. The complimentary valet service is not just about parking. Immediately the attendant asked about our needs and offered advice. In fact every encounter with included helpful information, whether about offsite restaurants or onsite room availability. Courtyard rooms are beautiful, but if there is an event, it can be noisy. There is a more quiet area if you request it. Some rooms have patios, others have balconies, others just window. Unfortunately, people are allowed to smoke on their patios, so even though the evening was beautiful enough to leave be windows open, we had a smoker 2 floors below us and the smoke was sucked right into our room and had to rely on the AC to keep us cool. The beds and linens are super comfortable. The packages are reasonable, though if you on are not into alcohol you end up paying for something you will not use as a bottle of wine is included in them. The pool is a great place to rest. The spa is top quality with sauna & jacuzzi and a relaxing room before and after your services. Our 1 overnight was a significantly restful time for my wife and I.

Room Tip: Ask for a court side patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
As a senior contributor for TripAdvisor we truly value and appreciate your 5 star review. Your detailed comments will be shared with the Estancia team. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your special occasion. We look forward to being a part of your future anniversaries..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing