We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property. Outdated rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property. Outdated rooms.”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This hacienda themed hotel property is beautiful and relaxing. Desert plants from around the globe lay beside hotel sidewalks. The hotel layout provides a surprising amount of privacy considering the quantity of rooms. The restaurants, bars, and valet service are all fantastic.
The main drawback to the Estancia is the outdated rooms. A huge armoire takes away a large amount of otherwise useful space from the small hotel room. In it is a large tube television and mini refrigerator. There is room in the fridge to put your things. The room telephones are old plastic 1980's model. The room décor is just as old. It is sad how poor and cheap the hotel was with their room furniture. The rooms need to be freshened up. And yet, the sleep quality of the mattress and the room’s cleanliness were very good.
Bottom line, the hotel needs to update its rooms in order to justify their rates.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    374
    145
    69
    35
See reviews for
306
478
54
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We spent 8 days at this resort and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is friendly and respectful. After an extensive internet search for a hotel in La Jolla, we are extremely happy with our choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bac1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We spent a night at the Estancia La Jolla Hotel.
At our arrival time 4pm, the room was not yet ready and we had to wait without any offer for another room, an upgrade or at least something to drink.

The room was clean with a nice view into the garden area.
But the minibar was empty and not even a bottle of water was awaiting thirsty guests. The whole hotel building is a maze without any proper designation.
At the reception when checking out and asking why the minibar was empty and no drinking water was provided, the staff member responded very impolite that guests would need to ask for (although we were not informed so when we checked in) and she did not provide the first hint of a friendly advance.

The whole experience at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa was a huge disappointment and once again showed nicely that more expensive hotels with seemingly more stars (4) not per se provide a higher quality stay. The next night at the Holiday Inn in Mission Bay, a 3 star hotel, did not just provide a much bigger room for less money, but bottles of water and even a snack.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicoleva_phd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The grounds are beautiful. The place has a very relaxing feel. We had breakfast at a place that overlooked the beautiful courtyard. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dianadepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Travelling the world and staying in several countries in Europe, Africa and North America in upper class hotels, this was certainly one of the most disappointed experiences I had.

First the good part:
- Room was clean with a nice bathroom
- The grounds are very nice with beautiful gardens

Bad parts
- We arrived after 4pm and our room was not ready
- Staff was not able to offer us an upgrade, drinks or something because the room not ready!
- Staff was very reserved and not really helpful (Except Valet guys - understandable for 25USD per night!)
- The room was very small (2 queens)
- There was not even a bottle water provided in the room, don 't even think there is something like a minibar...
- The last (restaurant/)bar on premise closes at 10.30pm (!)
- some furniture were in bad shape (TV furniture/cupboard)
tbc

the night after that we were staying in mid class hotel chain, where it was less than half the price and at least 4 times the comfort. I cannot recommend his hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0sm0Kramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed one night and it was a nice property, with beautiful grounds. There was nothing special about the room, except that it was very clean. Nothing special about the pool or pool area, but it was relaxing. We missed the breakfast buffet at the onsite Adobe restaurant, but had lunch there instead; limited menu, though our food was delicious and the ambiance on the balcony was lovely. Didn't try any spa services. I generally hate valet parking because I like access to my car in case I forgot something in it or I need to make a quick run out for something. But the UCSD parking was further away than I wanted to deal with, so I valet parked. Fine. I was kind of bummed that they offered $50 reservation/services discounts only AFTER we checked in (for next time) if we had booked directly on their website <http://www.estancialajolla.com/elj-direct.php>.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonthlyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest, va
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with wonderful grounds. The pool was nice and heated so we could have an evening swim each night after my conference. The hotel staff was very nice and the food we had was outstanding each day. The snacks put out during breaks was great and serving Starbucks coffee was an added bonus.

There were a few things that bothered me for the money spent on this room for a week. First, even though there was a little note on our bed saying by default our sheets were changed ever other day, I know they weren't changed the entire week I was there, because there was a tiny little mark on my sheet and pillow and some creases that were the exact same every day. Also, there was one day where they didn't clean my room at all for some reason and had to be called back at 6 pm for a "freshen up" which just meant make bed and clean towels. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained, so I scored it higher on cleanliness for that reason.

The location is very frustrating as there is NOTHING near here, so if you want to go anywhere else to eat, get coffee, snacks, etc. you are out of luck and have to take an expensive cab. Though near the beach it is a VERY difficult walk down a steep path and not very accessible.

If I wasn't there for business I probably would not pay the steep price to return, I would look for a place more central and with more consistent cleanliness in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javabuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing