We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be soooo much more...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Beautiful grounds, lovely . comfy areas to sip a cocktail and chat with friends
Poor service
Just OK food, though drinks looked awesome
Young staff do not understand preofessional service
Paper thin walls
Old saggy mattress
Many problems-will report if addressed for the remainder of stay
More later--hopefully

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank comfortablyclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstanciaLJ, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

I certainly apologize that we have not met your service expectations. It is Estancia La Jolla’s premier goal to exceed every guest’s expectations to create a special and memorable experience every time you visit. I am glad to hear you enjoy our property grounds and I would like the opportunity to rectify the service issues you have encountered and ensure you have a comfortable and quiet room so you can enjoy a premier Estancia La Jolla experience.


Jenna Novotny
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

A bit off the beaten path in La Jolla and not near the beach. Hence no views. We were given a room without a balcony or patio, even though we had reserved such. The clerk put us looking over the parking lot. The rooms on the outside of the hotel have awful views compared to the rooms with the inner courtyards. I requested a room change and it was promptly granted since we didn't get what we reserved. We were then moved to the back of the property, ground floor with a small patio. The hotel has focused all their landscaping efforts on the inner courtyards which are gorgeous. Our view if you will was of a tall hedge and numerous staff and a few guests that walked by and looked in our room from the sidewalk. Granted it was far better than the third floor room overlooking the parking lot, but NOTHING in comparison to the room on the inner courtyard. The staff are exceedingly pleasant and nice. I'm guessing with the college next door they have a good pool to choose from.
This is also a very quiet hotel. Don't come hear expecting a hopping nightlife.
While you might get a good daily room rate, they have a daily service fee of something like $12 (covers the pool, workout room, internet, blah, blah, blah) and on top of that they only allow for valet parking, so you've now just upped your daily bill another $30. Of course, then you're tipping two or three times a day to get your car so the cost continues upward. Granted there is plenty of parking and who knows why they only allow valet, but my guess is it's all about revenue. For those of you who don't want to pay and are willing to walk a block, at the next street (Salk) there appears to be plenty of parking. You'll park next to the Salk Institute, walk through their parking lot, cross the street and enter Estancia. Pretty simple if you have some mobility.
We found the rooms well appointed, but a bit on the small side. The majority of rooms appear to all be the same size. Oddly, there were no wine glasses in either room we had. I suppose we could have requested them, but in a hotel of this quality it seems like you would have wine glasses.
La Jolla has a quaint and artsy downtown area and there are a couple of equally upscale hotels. We found ourselves downtown more than we were at Estancia which is about a 10 minute drive north towards Torrey Pines golf course. If you're going to golf all day and then head to the hotel, Estancia is a nice location. They claim to have a lovely spa, but the prices were far more than we are willing to pay. In this economy too many spas offer incredible specials if one only makes a few inquiries.
We ate breakfast in the hotel, which we thought was good and not as overpriced as some hotel breakfasts can be. On the weekends they serve an excellent buffet. Dinner was mediocre at best. We loved the waiter Marcus, but the food was dull and overcooked, especially the pork chop which Marcus recommended. The salads we saw served looked excellent so in retrospect we should have stuck to an entree salad and wine. The desserts were not good, heavy and gelatanous. Again, for a hotel dining room we thought the prices weren't too bad, but the dinner quality just wasn't there especially given the excellent rated and reviewed restaurants in La Jolla. We particularly enjoy George's at the Cove, Manhattan and Osteria (Italian). You won't go wrong with any of these and the food is far better.
Housekeeping was excellent and again incredibly polite and pleasant. While we enjoyed our stay, I think the rooms are overpriced if you compare other similar quality hotels with beach/downtown access and views. My guess is that had we been in a room in the inner courtyard or overlooking the pool area we would have been far better satisfied. Switching rooms was a drag and then to watch staff and guests walking by on the sidewalk at the rear of the hotel looking as anyone would into open rooms, just didn't cut it. The $40 plus per day in added fees is also simply unacceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

If you’re looking for more of a nightlife party scene this is not the place.
For starters the grounds are just beautiful. You forget you are in the City. I would say this is more of a relaxation / spa treatment type of hotel because you can’t help but relax!
The restaurants are fantastic and the price points a plus!
Will our family go back…Absolutely! We have stayed in some of the top 5 star hotels but this just gives you a settled feeling. The hotel has a simplistic elegance about it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

No competition in the area so they can charge what they like.

The rooms are nice and the bedding is comfy, but is it worth what you pay? NO

Bad location, far from every shopping area, beach and restaurants. It is quiet, but not worth the price.

Charge $20 for parking and that is ridiculous given the price of the rooms and the fact that you can't park anywhere near there on the streets or anything (it is across UCSD and on a large property).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christmaszorro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at Estancia La Jolla for six nights at the end of December while visiting relatives in the area. The beautiful grounds are a major feature of this resort and certainly added to our enjoyment of the visit. Our third-floor room was clean, comfortable, and pleasant, with an attractive view of the grounds. The WiFi (included in the mandatory daily resort fee) worked well. We also appreciated the small refrigerator. Given the limited options for meals, having a fridge was a major convenience. The room had a coffee maker stocked with good-quality coffee that was replenished daily, as were the upscale toiletries in the bathroom.

One downside of the resort is a location far from local attractions, restaurants, and shopping, so that one must rely on auto transportation. Together with required valet parking, that adds substantial time and monetary cost.

Service was unfailingly friendly and usually helpful (mysteriously the hotel operator could not find our names when someone telephoned). We had our breakfasts in the one restaurant open in the morning and found the food and service excellent, with prices comparable to those in big-city hotels. As east coasters rising early, we appreciated that the restaurant opened at 6 am.

On a rainy night we wanted to avoid the inevitable drive to a restaurant and tried the restaurant normally open in the evening. For some reason it was closed, and we were directed to a different location. There, no tables were available. The hostess offered two other options (outdoors, on a cool and rainy night, or a crowded bar). We opted for one more drive to a local restaurant.

We didn't try the spa facilities or the pool, but we used the small exercise room. This was clean but marginal in the quality and quantity of equipment.

Our visit coincided with a rainy spell that was unusual for La Jolla. The layout of the hotel required walking through the rain to get to our room. Umbrellas were provided for the use of guests, but juggling an umbrella while using the keycard necessary to enter any but the main building was a bit of a challenge.

Most of the time we found the hotel very quiet and peaceful, though soundproofing leaves something to be desired. We noticed this when small children passed near our room. Also, because of the beautiful grounds, Estancia La Jolla hosts many weddings. One was held during our visit. Loud music from the band continued late into the evening, penetrating even our quite distant room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This property has only been here six years. It reminds of the La Quinta Resort and Spa in La Quinta, just east of Palm Desert. We got a great price then upgraded to a suite for only $49 more. The rooms was spacious and nicely appointed. The Suite was secluded from other rooms with a private entrance which made it seem more special. We also had our valet parking comped. Along with top shelf, we are here to serve you attitude, which is not that common these days. Smiles abound from the staff and the place is marvelously appointed. Two highlights were the heavenly bedding and a light in the closet which is motion sensor before the door actually opens.

The TV in the living room was undersized to the higher end hotels.

Two private balconies, and all the nice lotion and soap extras, in the bath

It is off of Torrey Pines road, so you can drive by it and not see it, unless you are looking for it. Really great Hotel, wish we had more time here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffofescondido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I traveled 36 hours changing 4 flights ot reach Estancia for a business meeting. The Jet lag the meetings all were lost and gone the moment i entered the scenic and beautiful Estancia La Jolla. It is no wonder one of the best destination resorts and my best experience of travelling to a number of plaves and various cities in the world.
I wish i could have stayed longer and enjoyed the spa and the beech more and i have estancia as the number 1 holiday resort on my list where i would love to return with my family.
My best wishes to the staff of Estancia and i reccomend it as an experience worth the money and worth the pleasure

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hassan_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
1.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
978 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
3.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £193 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing