We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Southern-like flavor”

A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Reserve with OpenTable
A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,236 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: US$25 - US$65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Callan Road
Description: The Grill offers a casual and convenient San Diego dining experience located adjacent to the practice putting greens and starters club house of the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Whether dining inside or on the patio, you will find a complete menu of your favorite items and beverages.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming Southern-like flavor”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was at a catered lunch so I was presented with some foods that I would have never ordered such as a salad with beets, baked chicken with artichokes, polenta, etc. It was all amazing. Service was top notch, of course.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    86
    30
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The service and especially the food is well worth the cost of the meals. There was a wide selection of drinks. And very romantic for couples. The restaurant was very fancy and food has that fresh and organic taste. As the restaurant receives fresh products everyday. Defiantly a must dine when in La Jolla.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Maybe good for dinner?”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My review on opentable: "Pompous and slow service - for Father's Day breakfast, nonetheless. The food was good, but nothing exceptional - we expected more - too bad!"
Dined on 6/15/2014

We were very disappointed after all of the great reviews. I would much prefer going back to The Marine Room, or George's or many other gorgeous choices over this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmdangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great restaurant but pricey”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My family really loves this restaurant. Although it's probably not the ideal restaurant to take your children to, my kids have always like this place from a young age and have always found things they enjoyed on the menu. However, the food is pricey here but of good quality. I would say that the service is good but horribly slow so don't be in a hurry. I work down the street and have taken staff here for special occasions during lunch and it has never really worked out because once we would finally get our food, we didn't have time to really sit and enjoy the food. This is also with me reminding our server that we are on our lunch hour. Never had time to wait for dessert. Good quality and food but come when you have at least a couple of hours to kill.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 625RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for such a nice review and we greatly appreciate having you as a loyal patron. Every meal is prepared fresh to order and with the utmost care from our Executive Chef and his team. Nonetheless, we apologize that you have experienced slower-than-normal service. We are taking a look at our standard operating procedures for both the kitchen and wait staff to determine why there might have been a longer wait from time to time. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were not guests of the hotel nor did we eat a full meal here. We stopped on our way through town after a long day of sightseeing for dessert and coffee. The service, atmosphere and desserts were all top-notch and the perfect ending to our wonderful day. We sat overlooking the beautiful pool and grounds and it was very relaxing! Thank you to the staff for making all who enter feel welcome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottH9848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines also viewed

 

Been to A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing