We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club House at Torry Pines”

A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Reserve with OpenTable
A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Callan Road
Description: The Grill offers a casual and convenient San Diego dining experience located adjacent to the practice putting greens and starters club house of the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Whether dining inside or on the patio, you will find a complete menu of your favorite items and beverages.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Club House at Torry Pines”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Inside a very attractive club house, AR Valentien offers local cuisine with great service. I was very much impressed and will certainly go back if I am back in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    85
    29
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stellar food, service, and hospitality”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The restaurant is known for its focus on local cuisine, which is why we were there. The staff are very well informed about the meals and the provenance of the ingredients. We received excellent but not intrusive advice about choices from our waiter Jeff and from the sommelier Paul. The staff were all very friendly. We ate well and all elements of the meal reflected the fresh ingredients. Our main courses (halibut, duck) were highly recommended and both exceptional. The sommelier pours generously.

The room reflects an old-style lodge charm, with tiffany lamps and wood. It was a bit dark, but perhaps that enhanced a lovely leisurely meal together.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank knitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Charming Old World Style”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Was impressed with this charming restaurant from moment we drove up to their front door. It is part of the Torrey Pines Golf Course and has a beautiful setting with the charm old old San Diego. Delightful, engaging staff. Wonderful selection of food, tastefully prepared. Their eggs were definitely farm-fresh. We ate on the patio with a beautiful view of their pool and the golf course. Will go back again for sure. Well priced with exceptional food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SANCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming Southern-like flavor”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was at a catered lunch so I was presented with some foods that I would have never ordered such as a salad with beets, baked chicken with artichokes, polenta, etc. It was all amazing. Service was top notch, of course.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The service and especially the food is well worth the cost of the meals. There was a wide selection of drinks. And very romantic for couples. The restaurant was very fancy and food has that fresh and organic taste. As the restaurant receives fresh products everyday. Defiantly a must dine when in La Jolla.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines also viewed

 

Been to A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing