We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Reserve with OpenTable
A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: US$25 - US$65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Callan Road
Description: The Lodge’s signature restaurant, A.R. Valentien, highlights regional San Diego cuisine served in an elegant, timbered indoor-outdoor dining room overlooking the 18th hole of Torrey Pines Golf Course. Executive Chef Jeff Jackson sources only the best local provisions, and the menu changes frequently based on seasonal fare available. The restaurant takes its name from a talented early 20th-century California artist whose works are exhibited throughout the restaurant.
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had dinner at A.R. Valentien. The food was excellent, beautifully presented and generous portions. The waiters and servers are very knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. The menu changes daily and is worth the price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    86
    30
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Club House at Torry Pines”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Inside a very attractive club house, AR Valentien offers local cuisine with great service. I was very much impressed and will certainly go back if I am back in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stellar food, service, and hospitality”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The restaurant is known for its focus on local cuisine, which is why we were there. The staff are very well informed about the meals and the provenance of the ingredients. We received excellent but not intrusive advice about choices from our waiter Jeff and from the sommelier Paul. The staff were all very friendly. We ate well and all elements of the meal reflected the fresh ingredients. Our main courses (halibut, duck) were highly recommended and both exceptional. The sommelier pours generously.

The room reflects an old-style lodge charm, with tiffany lamps and wood. It was a bit dark, but perhaps that enhanced a lovely leisurely meal together.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank knitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Charming Old World Style”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Was impressed with this charming restaurant from moment we drove up to their front door. It is part of the Torrey Pines Golf Course and has a beautiful setting with the charm old old San Diego. Delightful, engaging staff. Wonderful selection of food, tastefully prepared. Their eggs were definitely farm-fresh. We ate on the patio with a beautiful view of their pool and the golf course. Will go back again for sure. Well priced with exceptional food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SANCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming Southern-like flavor”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was at a catered lunch so I was presented with some foods that I would have never ordered such as a salad with beets, baked chicken with artichokes, polenta, etc. It was all amazing. Service was top notch, of course.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines also viewed

 

Been to A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing