We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What could be better italian style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Italianfare La Jolla

Stella Italianfare La Jolla
Ranked #40 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What could be better italian style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I just had their seafood pasta - with homemade pasta, excellent !
A great Veiw of the water, great live music - this is wonderful
Perfect place to come with friends to have fun and great food.
Am I in Italy ? No.........it's la Jolla

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gili A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    68
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

First off, I'm not an expert in Italian food but for the money, it was good but not great. Firstly the location is good, service is excellent and the restaurant itself is in need of some TLC. Ordered the Lasagna and it was good but not memorable. Found Stella through Groupon, if paid full price would have been disappointed, for what we paid it was good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kpattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“basic italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

this is a ok restaurant, they use allot of water and not enough cheese and beef. the pasta is nice but watery soup and sauce. a fun evening with the music.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2kitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

A few colleagues and I had dinner at Stella's while attending a conference nearby and we all agreed it was one of the best Italian meals we've had. If you're looking for a traditional, checkered tablecloth Italian restaurant, this is not it. While the décor may need some work, the food was incredible.

We started with two selections from their "dips": one sweet that consisted of mango and papaya; the other with a cheese base that was warm. Both came with toasted bread and both were delicious.

My main entrée was a pasta dish with house made sausage which was cooked perfectly. A couple of colleagues had the halibut and both agreed it was fresh and delicious.

To top it off, we split a gorgonzola ice cream that was incredible and very unique.

All in all, a very memorable meal in a very unconventional Italian restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GMan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The bread was good, the waitress tried her best but the food was awful! This place is not italian. They "invent" Italian dishes such as risotto carbonara or bruschetta with steak on top of the tomatoes and basil. If you like true Italian food do not go here!!! They also managed to find a rosso di montalcino which is not worth the name.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank edwindf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stella Italianfare La Jolla also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Stella Italianfare La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing