We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, very expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zenbu Sushi Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Zenbu Sushi Bar & Restaurant
Price range: US$1 - US$50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good, very expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Random place in a random strip mall. Surprisingly very good, but also very good expensive. Probably depends who the sushi chef is.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank artichoke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
222 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

All we can say about this great place is that it has great sushi AND other options if you don't like sushi. I love the comfortable atmosphere and their great salads. Service was especially good for us. Don't worry about ordering special or substitutes as they will accommodate!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spolar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
1 review
“Best Sushi Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Great Service & Excellent Sushi and has a Great Happy Hour Menu and has a Friendly Staff , also has the best sliders , Zenbu rolls , Great place to Bring the Family or a Date ,

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nalusurfdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocrity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our Friday evening at Zenbu was mediocre. The sushi, nigiri, sashimi and specialty fish salads were a 5 out of 10. Not the freshest fish I had. Good, not bad but not the greatest. I sometimes have difficulty taking any Japanese restaurant seriously seeing no Japanese Chefs behind a sushi bar. One of the greatest compliments for a restaurant is to have the Japanese gourmet chef. Too many Gaijin chefs.

The atmosphere was a bit bizarre. Football game on one TV screen with loud, live Surf Music in one corner that made it difficult to have conversation. Not what I was looking for. Younger-ish crowd looking to party and pickup. No thanks. If you are looking for quiet Asian atmosphere, go elsewhere.

Service was slow. Perhaps they sensed my displeasure with being there. Zenbu shares bathrooms and kitchens with Rimel's given common ownership. I've experienced much better. In fact, I prefer the LaJolla site much better.

Price is a bit too much given the lack of high quality fish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two incredible restaurants in one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

A visit in July 2012 to local-recommended Zenbu in Cardiff was a treat. The restaurant/bar is small, and the DJ for the evening, though a treat to listen to and very talented, was only 4 feet from our table, so it was a little noisy for my liking. The sushi was incredible, and since they share a kitchen with Rimel's next door, we could order off of both menus. Don't miss the calamari with cilantro & lime vinegarette - the best calamari I have had!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkraucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zenbu Sushi Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing