We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi on the Rock

Sushi on the Rock
Ranked #53 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Ive eaten here a couple times while on business trips to the area. The food is always good, the service is always great, and the patio is a great location to enjoy a meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    62
    32
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rara8698
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“All Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stopped in at this restaurant on our recent vacation to SD/La Jolla after reading some great reviews & perusing the menu to see that they had an extensive selection of specialty rolls. We were there around 7:30 on a Sunday evening and were able to get a seat right away without a reservation, which was nice. La Jolla seems to be a pretty sleepy town on a winter Sunday evening, which was fine with us! We ordered the spicy garlic edamame, which was really good and very different from spicy garlic edamame I've had elsewhere. It had an earthier, smokier flavor, while still being pretty spicy. For sushi, we got the Coco Roll, which I highly recommend. It was a nice alternative to the traditional shrimp tempura roll you typically see. If you like coconut shrimp & you like sushi, you will love this roll! We also got the Crunchy Roll, which was a cool play on the shrimp tempura idea. It had a lot of extra "crunchies" all over it, which were really good and just added a nice texture. We shared the Red Dragon Roll as well (do you see a theme of shrimp tempura here?! haha), and I think that one was my favorite. They were all good though - it was hard to choose a fav. My boyfriend got the Screaming Roll for himself (I don't care for soft shell crab) & he said that was his favorite out of all. We had really great service, and sitting outside was nice since they had heaters to keep us warm in the chilly lower 60s degree evening. Food, service, and atmosphere were all great, so I gave this place 5 stars :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rara8698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great outdoor seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Our family of 7 sat outside for lunch. We had a gorgeous view. The sushi was great. My favorite was "The Don". The kids had fried rice, miso soup, and a bento box. Service was great too.

Helpful?
Thank StathamFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Better than average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this restaurant, which serves amply-sized portions of California-styled sushi. The edamame was excellent, warm and nicely prepared, which is a real contrast to what we have often found in similar places around the US. The Mexican-influenced spicy sushi and rolls were fun, and although one wonders what a Japanese chef would make of them, we thought they were very tasty!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laopei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Another solid place in La Jolla. Outdoor seating and next to another restaurant / bar that had live music when we were there. Was nice hearing live music and eating Sushi outdoors on a beautiful Southern California night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TDPatterson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi on the Rock also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Sushi on the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing