We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Roppongi - CLOSED

Roppongi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$80
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fay
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although the place looks fantastic, I was not impressed with the food. I would just call it average. And my Bloody Mary was just like it was poured out of a can...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellyMLnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    74
    28
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful California Fusion Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were visiting La Jolla on business pleasure when our close friend recommended Roppongi for a late lunch. We had multiple small plates between four of us. Every dish has varied spices and ingredients. The crab stack, eggplant tapas, and Kobe Sliders were particularly memorable. The service and atmosphere was outstanding and I would return back multiple times to try the entire menu. It seems that there must be quite the crowd for evening dining. We sat near the fireplace which on this day was cozy and very fun.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rzellg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sushi School!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Recently, I was at Roppongi for their 'sushi school'. In addition to making/eating the sushi rolls I made, there was a '3 course meal' and sake pairings. The sushi instructor was funny and friendly, the server always kept my sake glass full and the atmosphere was awesome! The sushi school is only offer the first Saturday of each month and quickly fills up, so plan ahead. I recommend attending 'sushi school' for locals and visitors alike!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeans151617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Happy hour tappa menu is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The extensive tapa menu offering 1/2 price during Happy Hour brought us back twice during our stay in La Jolla. The diversity of the flavors was impressive. The first night we had an Asian medley - the signature salad and scallops were especially memorable. We returned and had a more Mid Eastern assortment - the new lamb skewers and tahini were amazing. We enjoyed creative dishes artfully presented with extremely attentive service. And the value if you go before 6:00 is unbelievable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iafamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Go at happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Im not sure if Happy Hour begins at 3 p.m. A
aanywhere else but here, but the Asian-themed food (get the arugula and fig salad with orange dressing or the satay) and cocktails (get anything with pear purée...the bartender is a magician) is discounted and the drinks half price. Attentive service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phillyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roppongi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing