We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the #1 position” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage

Cottage
Ranked #5 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the #1 position”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Although food and service are okay we were expecting something spectacular after reading all the reviews. This is a standard place offering standard quality, nothing more and nothing less. A scone and jam served with my scrambled eggs, bacon and guacamole...who ever invented this??? The setting is nice and the service pretty good, but not worth the rave reviews. ( plus the food was kind of cold)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank edwindf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    274
    67
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Three breakfasts in a week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Never mind the 35 minute wait. This place is worth it! Their egg sandwich, crab cakes benedicts and stuffed french toast were outrageous. I sampled the ricotta/lemon pancakes and wished I had time in the week to try every item on this menu. The waitstaff are great--I always had a full cup of coffee. If you are in La Jolla, do not miss this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank breslers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
589 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in San Diego!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Is the food excellent? Yes! Is the service excellent? Yes! Upon leaving our waitress offered to pour some coffee in a paper cup so that we would have road brew.I had an Italian sausage scramble, and my wife had ricotta/lemon pancakes, which were very light. A fresh scone accompanied my scramble.
Go early as the restaurant fills up very fast. We arrived at 7:30, the time it opens. By 8:00 it was nearly full.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baltoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Charming setting, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Breakfast at about 7:30 on Saturday morning - no wait, nice table by the window. Cheerful service. Very tasty and hearty pancakes. Looks like it's an awesome eggs Benedict place (though we're not egg eaters). Family-friendly. Nice patio we may try on a warmer day.

Helpful?
Thank geckonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sweet spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I ate at this sweet restaurant while on a business trip to LaJolla. I had a great outside seat, under an umbrella. My avacado salad was so delish!! The Cottage is just a few short blocks from the beach. The menu is varied and the wait staff attentive.....go there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottage also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing