We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well...it's about the price here....”

NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,235 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girard
Description: An ongoing commitment to innovative cuisine using only the freshest local produce makes NINE-TEN a must visit for culinary aficionados. This intimate restaurant, led by Executive Chef Jason Knibb and Pastry Chef Jose Alonzo III, offers the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance and an ideal location along La Jolla's Prospect Street. Enjoy the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers, where produce is selected daily for the restaurant's Evolving California Cuisine. The bounty of the sea is also featured with local fish selections and items arriving daily from Hawaii and the North Pacific and Atlantic regions. Special prix fixe menus are available and feature matching wines from the extensive wine cellar. Enjoy dining indoors or on the sidewalk patio or outdoor terrace with glimpses of the ocean. A separate bar offers limited menu and happy hour specials daily. Open daily for breakfast and lunch and dinner nightly. Sunday Brunch is also offered.
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Four of us ate at Nine-Ten on Monday Oct 7, and while we enjoyed everything we ordered, we found it somewhat overpriced.
The portions were very much on the skimpy side, which hardly justifies the mid-thirty's pricing on nearly all entrees.
We found the service to be on the overly casual and "fun" side, again not quite right for such an establishment.
With no cocktails, two appetizers, four glasses of wine with our four entrees and shared two desserts: $182 before tip.
You can decide for yourself if you'd be comfortable with that. We were not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wiley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Director of Food & Beverage at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Wiley - I am sorry to hear that you were not "wowed" after you recent dinner at NINE-TEN. I will certainly pass along your comments about the portion sizes to our Executive Chef and will address the "overly casual" service you received with our wait staff. If you would l like to give us another try on your next visit to La Jolla, by all means contact me directly and I will personally make your reservation. Best regards, Neal Wasserman, Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 304 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

You will not be disappointed with your meal or the attentiveness of the staff. A fine breakfast to enjoy on the sidewalk or the interior of this 100 year old land mark in La Jolla. Moderate menu pricing makes this a great stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Director of Food & Beverage at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you, Bob, for taking the time to provide some feedback about your recent visit to NINE-TEN. I very much appreciate your comments and will certainly pass them along to our entire front- and back-of-the-house team. See you again soon. Neal Wasserman, Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The service is excellent. Servers with a smile. Nothing dainty about the cocktails here either. Plenty of Vodka in the martinis.

Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Manager & Sommelier at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Matt -
So glad to hear you had a chance to visit the bar at NINE-TEN during your recent stay at the Grande Colonial. I am happy you were pleased with our bartender service and cocktail selection...particularly the pour! Come back and see us again soon. Summer Haines, Sommelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I wished the portion size was bigger. but the food was cooked to perfection and served with elegance. Desserts to die for.

Thank Erma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Executive Chef at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear ErmaA: While I'm sorry that your dinner portions weren't as large as you would have liked, I'm glad to hear that the preparation and service exceeded your expectations. I also appreciate your comment about the desserts. We recently hired a new Pastry Chef, Rachel King, and she is by far the best Pastry Chef in town...if not the region. (She was even nominated by Food & Wine earlier this year as the Best New Pastry Chef in the Country.) Thank you again. Chef Jason Knibb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It's always fun to try new places and experience different kinds of food!

Nine Ten was a very nice experience. We went here for restaurant week and were not disappointed. They offer a three course meal for $40 per person.

Appetizer:
I got a tuna tartare appetizer which I thoroughly enjoyed. Nice flavor and the presentation was very unique in a good way. My husband got something with duck bacon and I don't even remember seeing it so I guess it had to be that good.

Entrees:
I got a salmon dish which was very flavorful. My husband got the beef short rib stew which was the best beef short rib stew he has ever had so far. The flavor was unique and was just fabulous.

Desserts:
I got this warm chocolate cake dessert with vanilla ice cream, caramel and fudge. Oh my gosh it was amazing. I ate it all! My husband got a cheese dish, it was also amazing!

We had an awesome waiter and we can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LecSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Executive Chef at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear LecSam:
I am so glad you were able to experience NINE-TEN during the recent San Diego Restaurant Week. I thank you for your positive comments about the food and desserts. While the $40 Restaurant Week menu takes place only two times each year, we always have a special Market Dinner menu each night. For just $55, you can create your own 3-Course meal choosing a starter, entrée and dessert from the regular NINE-TEN dinner menu (and if you want wine pairings with each course, it's only $75). I hope you will have the opportunity to come back another night. Meanwhile, thank you again for the nice feedback. Chef Jason Knibb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing