We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner!”

NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girard
Description: An ongoing commitment to innovative cuisine using only the freshest local produce makes NINE-TEN a must visit for culinary aficionados. This intimate restaurant, led by Executive Chef Jason Knibb and Pastry Chef Jose Alonzo III, offers the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance and an ideal location along La Jolla's Prospect Street. Enjoy the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers, where produce is selected daily for the restaurant's Evolving California Cuisine. The bounty of the sea is also featured with local fish selections and items arriving daily from Hawaii and the North Pacific and Atlantic regions. Special prix fixe menus are available and feature matching wines from the extensive wine cellar. Enjoy dining indoors or on the sidewalk patio or outdoor terrace with glimpses of the ocean. A separate bar offers limited menu and happy hour specials daily. Open daily for breakfast and lunch and dinner nightly. Sunday Brunch is also offered.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Has dinner here a few nights ago. We had a large group with a set menu and it was fantastic! The steak was mouth watering....the shortrib app was also delicious. The dessert, a fruit tart was the best part! Service was awesome as well!

Helpful?
Thank AmyBerto218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear AmyBerto218 - thank you very much for taking the time to provide some feedback about your dining experience at NINE-TEN. I’m happy to hear how much you enjoyed it. Our short ribs are one of our most popular dishes! And I will let our pastry chef, Rachel King, know how much you enjoyed her fruit tart. We're lucky to have her in the pastry shop. Come back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    130
    37
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We traveled to La Jolla & stayed at the Grande Colonial connected to the Nine-Ten restaurant. We decided to try the restaurant for dinner & we were impressed!! The food was delicious & the service was wonderful! We ate many meals at Nine-Ten during our stay & enjoyed everyone of them!! My favorite was the halibut special..outstanding!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvFoodFunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear AmyD - I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you not only for choosing to stay at the Grande Colonial during your recent visit from Dallas, but also for choosing to dine at NINE-TEN...not just once but several times. Call me biased, but the restaurant is truly one of the best in town. I'm happy you agree. Hope to see you back to La Jolla soon. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“mmmmmm....”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was skeptical because of the hype surrounding the reputation of this restaurant as being so very good. Well, it is so very good, and MORE! I had the lamb with a Moroccan herb twist and it was excellent. The wines were superb and the attention to detail great! I would heartily suggest this restaurant to a foodie who truly appreciates great service, great food, great wine and a memorable experience. We were offered different wines to taste, as I am so picky about Pinot Noir's, and, it was a fun start to the evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PamHGolden_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Sommelier at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear PamHGolden_Colorado: Well despite your skepticism, I am so delighted to hear that you decided to give NINE-TEN a try after reading all of our positive reviews. I appreciate you not only taking the time to post some feedback but also your positive comments about our food, service and our wine program. I hope the next time you visit from Colorado, you'll come back and dine with us again. Thanks much. Summer Haines, Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,214 reviews
705 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
“Terrace Dining with Flair”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a romantic dinner on a quiet terrace with superior service and dishes served with artistic flair. This is a classy restaurant in a majestic hotel. Our salads (beet, mixed greens) were divine. The salmon and halibut entrees were mouth watering delicious. We finished our meal off with their strawberry shortcake. If you want to impress someone bring them here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Executive Chef at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear kpatters: Thank you for the nice comments you wrote about your recent dinner at NINE-TEN. The weather here in La Jolla has been fantastic so I'm glad you had the chance to dine out on our back terrace. I appreciate your positive feedback about the food and dessert and will be sure to share your comments with our entire team. Thanks again. Jason Knibb, Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“pleasant place for breakfast”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great coffee and breakfast. Quiet as well as comfortable. A place away from the crowds. Enjoy every time we eat there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhaley_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear jhaley_13 - I just wanted to tell you how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write a few comments about your recent breakfast experience at NINE-TEN. We agree with you 100%. Our breakfast is one of the best kept secrets in La Jolla. Not only do you get the quality of cuisine NINE-TEN is so renowned for, but you get to experience it in a wonderful location and (generally) without any wait. And our new Pastry Bar, offering the amazing Maple Bacon Bars by our Pastry Chef Rachel King, has been a huge hit with our breakfast regulars. We look forward to seeing you back again soon too. Thanks again, Summer Haines, Manager & Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing