We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girard
Description: An ongoing commitment to innovative cuisine using only the freshest local produce makes NINE-TEN a must visit for culinary aficionados. This intimate restaurant, led by Executive Chef Jason Knibb and Pastry Chef Jose Alonzo III, offers the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance and an ideal location along La Jolla's Prospect Street. Enjoy the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers, where produce is selected daily for the restaurant's Evolving California Cuisine. The bounty of the sea is also featured with local fish selections and items arriving daily from Hawaii and the North Pacific and Atlantic regions. Special prix fixe menus are available and feature matching wines from the extensive wine cellar. Enjoy dining indoors or on the sidewalk patio or outdoor terrace with glimpses of the ocean. A separate bar offers limited menu and happy hour specials daily. Open daily for breakfast and lunch and dinner nightly. Sunday Brunch is also offered.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a wonderful meal at this restaurant. Very good value !
Only minus : had dinner outside which is next to the swimming pool and the screaming children were spoiling the ambiance.
Other than that, no negatives !
Will definitely come back !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank domibear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Domibear64 - I am very happy to hear that you were able to stop by NINE-TEN during your recent visit from Belgium. You certainly traveled a great distance and deserve a great meal with great service and I'm glad that your experience with us was just that. While I'm pleased you had the opportunity to sit out on our outdoor terrace, I do apologize for the noise you experienced of the children swimming in the adjacent pool. I hope the next time you visit the States, you'll stop by for another meal and either dine in the main dining room or even on our sidewalk patio. Meanwhile, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    130
    37
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Was on a stay cation in La Jolla over the weekend and went here for dinner. Still fantastic. The desserts were sooo good. Highly recommend this place if your around head and shoulders above the other restaurants in La Jolla.

Helpful?
Thank Mariano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mariano - It's always great to hear from our locals on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed your "staycation" here in La Jolla. Thanks for choosing to dine at NINE-TEN. We appreciate your very positive comments. I will be sure to pass along your high remarks about the desserts to our Pastry Chef, Rachel King. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a great place for special occasions. The food is fantastic. I had halibut, and it melted in your mouth. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nonya55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great food and service. I have been to brunch and dinner, as well as held private events. This is a great place to do it all!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KDG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Somewhat pricey, but very nice.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We often go here for breakfast, even when we do not stay at the La Grande Colonial. And I have been here for lunch and dinner, too. It has been consistently nice, but a bit pricey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _M_A_A_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your visit to NINE-TEN. We are always delighted to have our hotel guests dine with us...and just as happy when those staying at other hotels come back and see us over and over again. That's just the kind of reputation we like to have. I do hope the next time you visit La Jolla, whether you stay with us or not, that you will take the time to come back to NINE-TEN and experience again one of the finest restaurants in San Diego. (Although I do hope you’ll pick the Grande Colonial again too!) All the best, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing