We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Jose's Courtroom

Jose's Courtroom
Ranked #39 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Serving up Mexican food since 1972, Jose's Courtroom offers ocean views, family friendly dining, and late night drinks and entertainment. During the day we serve some of the towns best Mexican food and plenty of margaritas to wash it down. Jose's Happy hour is from 4-7pm Monday-Friday with food and drink specials. With it's diverse crowds, Jose's is a place where you can find yourself at the bar sharing stories with a suit on your left and a surfer just out of the water on your right. We are laid back and a little louder than the rest of the block, so don't expect the stuffy La Jolla feel at Jose's. From the kitchen, you'll find all the traditional dishes you'd expect from an authentic Mexican kitchen but with a personal touch from our Chef Jose Rodriguez, who has been creating delicious dishes for nearly three decades. In the front of the house, you'll share good times with our fun, friendly servers and bartenders who are always here to help lift spirits and provide the catalyst to a good time.
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a fun, comfortable place. Nice place for afternoon appetizer and drinks or for dinner. Good food great place for people watching if you sit outside. Just wish they still had their calamari!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank luckieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    84
    32
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Late lunch & the perfect margarita”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

8 (5adults& 3 kids) of us stopped for a late lunch & were all happy we found Jose's. Our sever was very good, the warm chips & fresh salsa was replenished often. We all ordered something different & all were satisfied. The Perfect margarita was that, fresh lime juice did it! A pitcher went down very easily.

Helpful?
Thank mcgon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good chips and salsa, and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Came here with a group of colleagues and enjoyed the experience. The atmosphere and pitcher of margaritas are excellent. The chips and salsa were also great and I balanced the diet out with ordering a healthy Pollo Asada salad. They also have a lot of traditional dishes like Chiles Rellenos which one of my colleagues really enjoyed. I would definitely come back here again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jesus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All to typical for a Mexican restaurant in the U.S.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was inclined to give the restaurant the lowest rating possible but give it a 3 star only to acknowledge that the restaurant is indeed “average” among Mexican restaurants in the US. But don’t we have a right to better? A Mexican hole in the wall restaurant near where I work in Seattle served takeout food that was everything you could ask for – chicken in the enchiladas was always moist, flavorful & fresh. Spicing and sauces were flavorful, never overwhelming.

Not so at Jose’s. Yes, food was fast, reasonably priced and filling (it seemed to expand in my stomach making me feel uncomfortable for hours afterwards). Plates came out soon (alarmingly so) after we ordered to give us the impression that very little preparation was needed. Indeed.

If you drink enough of their house margaritas you may not care that chicken is tough, over-cooked and has no flavor. And maybe you won’t notice that most of the taste comes from cheese liberally applied to everything.

At the hotel, they told me it was “authentic Mexican”. Typical would be more like it. Typical for 10s of thousands of Mexican restaurants in the US catering to us Americans who don’t seem to know any better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Z4Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Love the House Margarita”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Good location. Ordered a cup og tortilla soup for lunch. Taste was good and it was delivered quickly. Nice selection of drafts. Pluss for free nachos and salsa.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jose's Courtroom also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Jose's Courtroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing