We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy - Peanut Oil used if you have allergies.”

Richard Walker's Pancake House
Ranked #15 of 1,236 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Richard Walker's Pancake House serves award-winning, breakfast and lunch cuisine including the world-famous Baked Apple Pancake as well as a variety of original-style pancakes, crepes, waffles, omelettes, egg dishes, sandwiches and desserts.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy - Peanut Oil used if you have allergies.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We vacationed recently in LaJolla and our kids were thrilled to try this pancake house. We noticed right away on the menu a note that peanut oil is used in the pancakes, crepes, and waffles. Our son is highly allergic to peanuts, and we mentioned this our server - he could could not have been nicer and more accomodating, checking with the kitchen staff on the items that our son could have. It turns out that you could in fact order a pancake made without peanut oil, and add some fruit to it which was fine for our son. (although he was a bit disappointed in his limited options and envious of his sisters chocolate chip pancake)
The food and service were terrrific, but if you have a child with a peanut allergy make sure you set up the expectation for them of their limited options as to avoid disappointment. They also offered gluten free pancakes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaylemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    68
    31
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in la jolla! Best bacon in town”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Went twice the week I was there! The other days we went to other restaurants but nothing compared to Richard walkers! They had the best thick sliced bacon - a must to have on the side with any meal! The French toast and crepes were both amazing! The apple pancake and the Dutch pancake were also so good but so filling!!! This place is a must for breakfast! Our service was also very great. Our coffee was filled all the time and everyone was very nice!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molpai14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still the Best Breakfast in Town!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I've been to Walker Bros, in a couple of states and they never fail to please the taste buds at a very fair price. Everyone I have taken here loves it and cannot stop talking about the flavor of the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juliette0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
None
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Loud, Did I say Loud and mediocre pancakes”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are local and went there the other day for breakfast. There was a line to get a table, as I expected. But what I didn't expect was how loud the restaurant was. An ear splitting sounds of clinking dishes and peoples voices. It didn't help the table next to us was extra loud but even without them it was way above average.

The pancakes my family had were good not great. The ones I had were bad. I got the buckwheat pancakes and they just downright tasted bad. I will take the ones my wife makes every day over these.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelleraroundthewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Remarkable breakfast in the La Jolla Village”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I walked to Richard Walker's Pancake House in La Jolla for an early morning breakfast on Sunday. When we walked into the restaurant we were immediately greeted and seated in a booth. The booth was spacious and offered a view of the lovely stained glass that decorates this restaurant. Our server and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We felt like valued customers. The food was very good, especially my Santa Fe omelette. The list of pancakes is as extensive as the old International House of Pancakes from the 1960's. Ours were delicious. The bathroom was very clean - the mark of an excellent restaurant in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richard Walker's Pancake House also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Richard Walker's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing