We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“location, location, location!!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Having driven into LaJolla without a reservation, we checked out a historic hotel $250+/night. Although the room was elegant, there was only a stretch the neck view of the Pacific. Looking out I spotted a bright pink hotel below and on the water. What I found was a step into the 60's! The neat and clean room was an efficiency, refrig,stove etc. and it had a balcony overlooking the Pacific, the park and the beautiful cliff walk. I was able to negotiate a rate of $159/night which included a rooftop breakfast! We were able to easily walk to the many fine restaurants and the staff was delightful, friendly and helpful. For my money a glass of wine on the balcony beats elegant linens and marble sinks for twice the price. WARNING!! you MUST request a balcony room overlooking the Pacific, otherwise you willmbe diappointed

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    332
    154
    108
    112
See reviews for
378
342
37
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga,CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I remember our first trip to Calif., and seeing my first view of the Pacific Ocean from La Jolla in 1957. The La Jolla Cove Suites rekindled the joy of that memory. The Cove Suites are clean, comfortable, welcoming and offer views that are breath-taking. The great staff is courteous beyond compare. The rooms and property are impecable and are truly reminiscent of a by-gone era. The location is perfect and lends itself to strolling along the beach and wandering into the village area. If you are looking for luxury in a ultra plush, modern hotel, this isn't your kind of place. But if you value service and cleanliness, and if you are a bit "old school" and have a hankering for nostalgia, then the La Jolla Cove Suites truly is a find and it will make you smile. A special thank you to Tracy White for sharing photos sent to The Cove Suites from long time hotel patrons! This place is a jewel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoCruzinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novelty, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

After checking out of a below par facility in Pacific beach we found ourselves looking at a suite in the La Jolla Cove Suites. We couldn't have beem more pleased! The spacious corner unit on the fifth floor was beautiful! The view was breathtaking! The place was extremely clean and very confortable place to call home for two weeks. We will certainly return and hope to stay longer. Conpetent, friendly staff and lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shutterbug744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

i spent a lot of time and energy working with this property to host all of my wedding guests at this property, despite the disturbing reviews. i chose to overlook the reviews as i was initially having a very positive experience interacting with the hotel. it turned very ugly, very quickly.

where do i start?

1. the vast majority of rooms do not have internet access. i am not saying that you have to pay for it; i am saying that there is absolutely no internet access. the only rooms that have internet access are the "full suites."

2. just know what to expect. the furniture, colors, fixtures, appliances, etc. in all of the rooms but the full suites are very dated and look it (and sometimes smell it). the full suites are half-updated (the furniture) and half-not (the fixtures, appliances, etc.).

3. if you have to stay here, stay in a full suite.

4. the location is incredible although you will realistically get some noise from the street below.

5. parking is $15.

6. the continental breakfast is free and offers an incredible view from the top of the building...but it's hard to call it a breakfast. there was no staff there at all. nothing was fresh from what i could tell (i.e. grocery store-bought bagels out of a plastic bag).

7. the rooms are spacious.

8. there is no restaurant on-site (but of course a lot of good restaurants nearby).

9. consistent with a lot of the reviews, the location is spectacular but the property itself leaves plenty to be desired. as long as you set your expectations to an appropriate level, you will have an ok experience but please do not go into your vacation expecting a luxury experience. this is a 2-star hotel with a 4 or 5-star location.

now to the reserving a room block experience:

10. the person i dealt with was very pleasant but all decisions were made by the general manager--that seems to be where the problems started. we had negotiated a rate for a particular kind of room and the rate was a nice discount versus the best rate available on the website. i was a lot more interested in other types of rooms and asked whether i could receive a similar % or $ discount on those room categories...

at the time (and several days thereafter) that i sent the email requesting rates on the other room category, the internet rate for the room category was $202. they came back to me and offered $225 as a group rate. yes, you read that right, not only was it not a discount but it was significantly above the rate on the website that allowed for full cancellation rights without penalty.

i obviously pushed back as that was complete nonsense. guess what happened then? the $202 rate online magically jumped to $239 and then they "generously" offered a group rate of $202--the previous online rate. unethical to the least, wouldn't you say?

this hotel does not do business the right way. you can't say that i didn't warn you.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aroundtheworldinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 February 2011
La Jolla Cove Suites is family owned and operated, and has been in business for 52 years. We have wonderful employees who are dedicated to providing the highest level of customer service to our guests. When we receive constructive criticism we give it the utmost respect and consideration. We always strive to deliver a quality experience.

Our deluxe one bedroom suites (full suites), and all of our terrace suites have complimentary wireless internet access. In addition; we have a business center with complimentary wireless internet access, computers, and a printer. The business center is a very quiet, comfortable room, which is open for extended hours and is available to all guests. Complimentary wireless internet services are also available on our rooftop, as well as at the pool and BBQ areas.

Our deluxe continental breakfast is offered to all guests daily on our oceanfront rooftop. The breakfast includes hot and cold cereals, muffins, bagels, English muffins, a variety of fresh fruits, coffee, lattes, mochas, hot chocolate (with marshmallows), and a selection of Tazo teas.

Sometimes we negotiate a special rate for a specific room type, however that discount percentage will not be offered for other room types. As is standard in the travel industry, room rates change often as they are based on supply & demand (for example, much like the airline industry). Our deluxe one bedroom suite is a very popular room type and often sells out.

I apologize for offering such a technical response, however these issues are very industry specific and therefore, require some explanation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Jolla hotels

Wrentham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I booked this hotel based on a recommendation of a friend who lives in La Jolla who correctly described the hotel as in the center of all the action. After booking the hotel i checked trip adviser and was nervous about soem of the negative comments, then i remembered an old proverb " believe nothing of what you hear and only half of what you see.
The hotel stafff was excellent and very courteous, the rooms clean and with great ocean views. The mornign breakfast is what you expect from any cahin that offers a quick start in the morning. The parking fee of $15.00 is nominal and again what you would expect from any hotel.
If you like having great shops and restaurants within walking distance this is the place.

Just make sure if you are traveling with internet crazed children that you request a room with internet service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsalot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon Washington, USA
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Don't believe the gripes. I loved staying here. You just can't be a high maintenance, uptight traveler to stay here. It may be LJ, but baby just think of the hotel as an old Vegas showgirl who's lost her looks as the years roll by. She's still charming and hospitable!

I came for the La Jolla Rough Water Swim and stayed a couple nights on the fifth floor facing the Cove. The continental breakfast on the roof deck, the amazing views, nice staff, and that fab hot tub will have you forgiving the funky pink stucco and outdated furnishings. Kitchenettes were big and Jonathan's market isn't too far to fill the fridge. Parking is a breeze. You just can't go wrong for the location factor. The couch/sofabed is a nightmare though, just sleep on the couch if you're splitting rooms. It can be noisy on the street on the nights preceding events, like the Swim, when all you heard from 3 a.m. on was truck "reverse warning beeps." Just book it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skrzypeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

WE luv it there...have stayed there 3 times....the view is out of this world....can't beat it....we stay for the location and the view. The staff are great....the rooms are ok..but we wouldn't stay anywhere else because of the location!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHBUBBY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
924 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,330 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
998 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Property: La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing