We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view from worn down hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect view from worn down hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel during a business trip. The view is incredible but the hotel has seen better days and could be modernized. It was clean though! We had multiple trouble with our access card, but the staff was mostly very friendly and tried to help us as good as they could. The security guy was super friendly and helpful!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PaulHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Paul,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful view and superb location that La Jolla Cove Suites has to offer. I thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and security. Perhaps on your return visit, you might consider trying one of our newly renovated deluxe suites that offer some of the best views in our hotel. We thank you again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    334
    157
    111
    112
See reviews for
382
345
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This hotel should be labeled a "motel". It is run down. The "free" breakfast is far from a breakfast. It is loud. I would not recommend staying here. It is a great location. However, the hotel need to make a capital investment to update the rooms, provide a better breakfast offering.... Find another place to stay...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snmgriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
I apologize that you did not enjoy your recent stay at La Jolla Cove Suites. The hotel continually works on updating the property to ensure that our guests not only enjoy the wonderful location, but also modern and comfortable rooms. We serve a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on our rooftop with Belgium waffles, hot and cold cereals, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, assortments of juices, coffees and teas. Our guests generally rave about the breakfast, however if you are expecting a restaurant style breakfast, such as an omelet with sausage or bacon, our staff will be happy to recommend great local restaurants. I would love to speak with you in detail regarding your recent stay here. Please feel free to contact me at bhazel@lajollacove.com or you may call our direct line at (858)459-2621 and ask to speak to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Jolla hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in March. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Had room in the annexe on the 6th Floor. Room was fine, but it did not have WiFi access as "this side of the hotel" hasn't been done yet. This meant I had to go to the breakfast room on the 5th Floor to send and receive emails and book local attractions. This does not seem difficult to sort out and should be done immediately. Other than that it is a nice hotel in a good location. There is some noise from the sea lions on the nearby beach, but this is kind of charming. Great beachfront walks and local restaurants. This is an expensive area and expect to pay 20% more in local restaurants than in many other US locations. Personally I think that's worth it, but it's up to you. Great local wildlife - eagles, sea lions, seals, pelicans and you should go whale watching - it's amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at La Jolla Cove Suites. I apologize for the miscommunication, but we do offer complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire property. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful wild life that La Jolla has to offer and that you took advantage of the fact that the whales are currently migrating, so it’s the best time for whale watching. We thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICHMOND
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We had a studio ovean view, very comfy, great restaurants near by. only complaint the TV was too small. Will definaltely go back again.
Good local bus service to downtown SD. A tour on the Midway was very good.
Kansas City BBQ a neat place for food & beer.
Joyce Richmond BC

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOYCE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Joyce,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time and will be returning. Thank you again for staying with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and after the renovation which was just completed. The incredible view and fantastic location to both the park, ocean and the little town of La Jolla were wonderful! The room was spacious and the beds were incredibly comfortable. It may not be as luxurious as some very expensive hotels, but for the reasonable price, it can't be beat! All the essentials are there and the room was clean and had an inviting ambience. The breakfast deck area is a wonderful way to start the day or end it by watching the sunset over the ocean! On top of that, all the people we talked to at the hotel from the front desk to the cleaning staff were very helpful and responsive. We will return!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean have a fantastic view that can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynnie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear Cynnie,

Thank you for the lovely review you posted on Tripadvisor. I’m happy to hear that you are enjoying all the positive changes and renovations that the hotel is currently undergoing. Your comments regarding the staff are very sweet and we thank you for them. It was our pleasure to have you here at La Jolla Cove Suites and we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

No air conditioning! running water after 2:00pm!"maybe" old/dated musty room,they would not refund close to $600 my son had prepaid! we still went to another hotel!!!!!!run away from this place! it needs a multi-million dollar renovation just to be a decent place!

Room Tip: there are no "good rooms" if you want a good room ,go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RMJ169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We truly regret your unhappy experience. Due to the fact that your son’s reservation was made with a third party, the hotel was unable to refund the stay on the spot. We are currently negotiating a refund for your son with the third party. We apologize for the emergency maintenance repair being conducted when your son was checked in, it was an oversight our part to allow the early check in for this room. Upon request, an air conditioning unit can be provided for rooms that do not have a/c. Many of our rooms have undergone complete renovation and we continuously work on updates to the rooms. Currently, 100% of our rooms have received brand new beds and bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Amazing location and views from balcony. Rooms are great, a little dated, but they're nicely sized and I slept like a rock - especially when you open the sliding glass door and listen to the waves. The upstairs deck/breakfast area is outstanding with beAutiful ocean views. There's also a ton of stuff to do within waking distance. The walk/run path is truly epic with sea lions and rocky cliff ocean views.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Eric,

I am happy to hear that you so greatly enjoyed your recent stay at La Jolla Cove Suites. There is nothing better than listening to the sound of the ocean as you fall asleep. Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,090 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
949 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,005 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Property: La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing