We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$281
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$427
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
315
380
173
118
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
380
173
118
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla jolla coverooftop breakfastsea lionsview from the balconyone bedroom suiteocean frontfull kitchenscripps parkcomplimentary breakfastan older hotelmain buildingpool and hot tubcan't beat the locationamazing locationwatch the sunsetbit datedyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
831 - 836 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel during a business trip. The view is incredible but the hotel has seen better days and could be modernized. It was clean though! We had multiple trouble with our access card, but the staff was mostly very friendly and tried to help us as good as they could. The security guy was super friendly and helpful!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank PaulHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Paul,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful view and superb location that La Jolla Cove Suites has to offer. I thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and security. Perhaps on your return visit, you might consider trying one of our newly renovated deluxe suites that offer some of the best views in our hotel. We thank you again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This hotel should be labeled a "motel". It is run down. The "free" breakfast is far from a breakfast. It is loud. I would not recommend staying here. It is a great location. However, the hotel need to make a capital investment to update the rooms, provide a better breakfast offering.... Find another place to stay...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snmgriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

I apologize that you did not enjoy your recent stay at La Jolla Cove Suites. The hotel continually works on updating the property to ensure that our guests not only enjoy the wonderful location, but also modern and comfortable rooms. We serve a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on our rooftop with Belgium waffles, hot and cold cereals, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, assortments of juices, coffees and teas. Our guests generally rave about the breakfast, however if you are expecting a restaurant style breakfast, such as an omelet with sausage or bacon, our staff will be happy to recommend great local restaurants. I would love to speak with you in detail regarding your recent stay here. Please feel free to contact me at bhazel@lajollacove.com or you may call our direct line at (858)459-2621 and ask to speak to me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in March. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Had room in the annexe on the 6th Floor. Room was fine, but it did not have WiFi access as "this side of the hotel" hasn't been done yet. This meant I had to go to the breakfast room on the 5th Floor to send and receive emails and book local attractions. This does not seem difficult to sort out and should be done immediately. Other than that it is a nice hotel in a good location. There is some noise from the sea lions on the nearby beach, but this is kind of charming. Great beachfront walks and local restaurants. This is an expensive area and expect to pay 20% more in local restaurants than in many other US locations. Personally I think that's worth it, but it's up to you. Great local wildlife - eagles, sea lions, seals, pelicans and you should go whale watching - it's amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at La Jolla Cove Suites. I apologize for the miscommunication, but we do offer complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire property. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful wild life that La Jolla has to offer and that you took advantage of the fact that the whales are currently migrating, so it’s the best time for whale watching. We thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We had a studio ovean view, very comfy, great restaurants near by. only complaint the TV was too small. Will definaltely go back again.
Good local bus service to downtown SD. A tour on the Midway was very good.
Kansas City BBQ a neat place for food & beer.
Joyce Richmond BC

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOYCE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Joyce,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time and will be returning. Thank you again for staying with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and after the renovation which was just completed. The incredible view and fantastic location to both the park, ocean and the little town of La Jolla were wonderful! The room was spacious and the beds were incredibly comfortable. It may not be as luxurious as some very expensive hotels, but for the reasonable price, it can't be beat! All the essentials are there and the room was clean and had an inviting ambience. The breakfast deck area is a wonderful way to start the day or end it by watching the sunset over the ocean! On top of that, all the people we talked to at the hotel from the front desk to the cleaning staff were very helpful and responsive. We will return!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean have a fantastic view that can't be beat!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cynnie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear Cynnie,

Thank you for the lovely review you posted on Tripadvisor. I’m happy to hear that you are enjoying all the positive changes and renovations that the hotel is currently undergoing. Your comments regarding the staff are very sweet and we thank you for them. It was our pleasure to have you here at La Jolla Cove Suites and we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews