We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and big room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the La Jolla Cove Suites. The room was large with a separate bedroom, living room, and kitchen. The living room opened to a balcony where you could see the La Jolla cove, a phenomenal view. The breakfast in the morning was convenient and in a room on the deck which had more views. This was a great place to stay.

We have a 3 year old and she loved the space to play in the living room while we relaxed.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony that has the cove view, I would recommend the annex building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JustinGpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

I made a reservation about 6 weeks in advance for an "Oceanfront Queen Studio Suite". When we arrived we were given a terrace room. I immediately complained that this wasn't what I booked. A room overlooking the deck which had a loud wedding in progress. We could hardly see the ocean-it wasn't even a good room in the terrace section. We were told the hotel was sold out and sorry we couldn't give you another room. We considered leaving and I wish we had. It was no where near satisfactory. When I called several days later and talked to a "manager" she said sorry, you booked the terrace room. I told her I absolutely did not book that room. I live in San Diego, I was there as an ADA Relay volunteer, and I would never just book a room. I have my paper with the conf # and the words "oceanfront queen studio suite". When I reserved it we discussed whether I wanted a room with the bed having the oceanfront view.
Yes, I did get a discount on the room rate but I assumed I was getting what I had asked for. As I said, I live in San Diego, I would have NEVER paid even $150 plus tax and parking for a room like that.
Almost as disappointing, was talking to the manager who seemed to care less.(Cathy???) I wasn't even asking for anything. She blamed me for reserving the wrong room and said "you only paid $150 and that a terrace room is a ?$$$ room". Incorrect and beside the point.

Room Tip: rooms do not look like internet photos. find out if there is a wedding or other party on the terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SanDiegoCatSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We left relatives in Santa Ana for couple day anniversary get away. Lajolla Cove Suites is a hidden treasure and great value. Across street from park and Cove to see snorkelers and seals. Breathtaking, ample breakfast on the rooftop. Beautiful view from our balcony. This location is great, close driving to several beaches and San Diego. Nice pool and jacuzzi across parking lot and up steps. We asked the front desk for recommendation for dinner. He said walk over one bldg, go up steps. Walked up bluff stairs about 50 and entered a new street loaded w/ exclusive, jumping stores and restaurants. I did see hotel on Hotel Impossible, so fun to stay at place we saw on tv, don't see what the complaints are. Can't say enough, Lajolla and lajolla Cove suites was very cool and fun!

Room Tip: Newer comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Pictures shown on internet looked nothing like the room that we were given. The night we were there it was 80 degrees and there was no air conditioning in the room we were given, room was on the back of the building on the third floor. the parking lot was down 2 floors and directly across from the fourth floor on the other side of the parking lot was the swimming pool and outdoor area, so in other words we were in a canyon that had no air flow, loud from parking lot, pool etc , was small and not updated as pictures on the internet were. There was no way I would have been able to sleep in that room, for numerous reasons.

The front desk tried to charge up an additional $78 to "upgrade" to an air conditioned room. After
long negotiations we were finally given an air conditioned room, it was a larger room that we had reserved and that was the reason they needed to charge us extra. I did not need a larger room, but I did need a clean updated air conditioned room. I would never reserve a room that was not air conditioned if it was advertised that way. They did offer to bring in a portable air conditioner and install in the room, which they did, but the room was so small it took up all the floor room on one side of the bed and the air blew directly on the head of one side of the bed. An uacceptable alternative.

Location is great but not much else positive I can say about our experience.

Room Tip: do not take a room on back side of hotel...........only accept an updated air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Edward L, please accept our apology for your inconvenience and dissatisfaction during your recent stay here at the La Jolla Cove Suites. It appears there was a miscommunication with our team on the specific accommodations you wanted reserved versus what was reserved. I am pleased we resolved it for you while you were still here with us. Our pictures on our website are the exact rooms here at the hotel, and we have made sure we have photos of both our deluxe
suites with their oceanfront views, and our more economical accommodations that have an inside courtyard view. In San Diego, our weather blesses us with the convenience of not having to have air conditioning, but as you mentioned for our guests who desire it, our portable units we provide at no charge is appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we strive to create a wonderful experience for all our guests, I am so sorry we did not for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The best location in La Jolla. Stayed on the 4th floor in a studio bedroom. It's not luxury but very clean, with a great view. If one wants to spend their whole vacation in a hotel room maybe they should go to a more upscale expensive hotel! We will definitely stay there again. My only complain is the $20 parking fee to park at the hotel's premises.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank fotomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We are very active 50+ year olds. We leave early and come back late. The coves were in a beautiful location and we were right smack in the middle facing the water. Very nice. Room was a little pricey but La Jolla in general was pricey. My one complaint with the room would be that the shower tub was so small it wasn't comfortable. Otherwise it was fine. The help was nice and breakfast was nice. I think La Jolla was a little quiet and a little hoity toity for our tastes and next time we may go down to the bay or PB! But back a bit from the boardwalk. That's where all the good bars were. In la jolla bars were closing at 11. It was maybe off season? Sept 19?

Room Tip: Face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in one of the two bedroom/two bath suites and while the amenities were comprehensive (full kitchen with dishes and cutlery, etc) the condition of the property left much to be desired. Painting and thorough cleaning were badly needed as there was a layer of dust on most surfaces. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was horrendously loud. The breakfast options were severely limited - no yoghurt was available to accompany the items offered. The coffee machine had the distinction of producing the worst beverage I have ever tasted. Location is ideal, of course, but the property was a disappointment. One positive was the fact that the wedding reception on the rooftop adjacent to the 'breakfast' area ended promptly at 10 p.m. so any concerns we had about being kept awake were without basis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Anthony H, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit to our property, and I apologize we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your suggestions are appreciated very much. Our breakfast options are intended as a limited continental only offered as a complimentary courtesy for our guests, although we do offer homemade waffles daily, which our guests enjoy. Our coffee is a nationally recognized brand, but I will personally look into what we can do to improve it. Being located 200 feet from the ocean, we are on constant vigilance to maintain our physical upkeep, so we have a fulltime staff of painters painting daily! We accept your comments as a vehicle to assist us in enhancing our guests experience with us, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,190 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,379 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,033 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £98 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing