We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of Sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Clovis
1 review
“Lack of Sleep!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Unfortunately, the room right across from our room was full of young people partying throughout the night. I was just about to make a call to complain, but saw that security finally showed up and the noise was finally stopped.
Also, the room wasn't as clean as to what I'm use to when traveling. Needless to say, I will not be returning to your suites.
The one positive comment I would give is the location is nice as far as the view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Cher K, we take our guests' being able to rest, relax, and get a good night's sleep seriously, so
I am disappointed to learn our security team did not respond in a timely manner for you not to be disturbed. Our Director of Security, Sean, has spoken to his team to ensure they understand the importance of taking immediate action when there is a noise issue that is impacting our guests.
I am pleased you enjoyed our location and our beautiful view, hopefully you will give us another opportunity sometime in the future to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    326
    148
    107
    107
See reviews for
365
337
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the La Jolla Cove Suites. The room was large with a separate bedroom, living room, and kitchen. The living room opened to a balcony where you could see the La Jolla cove, a phenomenal view. The breakfast in the morning was convenient and in a room on the deck which had more views. This was a great place to stay.

We have a 3 year old and she loved the space to play in the living room while we relaxed.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony that has the cove view, I would recommend the annex building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JustinGpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I made a reservation about 6 weeks in advance for an "Oceanfront Queen Studio Suite". When we arrived we were given a terrace room. I immediately complained that this wasn't what I booked. A room overlooking the deck which had a loud wedding in progress. We could hardly see the ocean-it wasn't even a good room in the terrace section. We were told the hotel was sold out and sorry we couldn't give you another room. We considered leaving and I wish we had. It was no where near satisfactory. When I called several days later and talked to a "manager" she said sorry, you booked the terrace room. I told her I absolutely did not book that room. I live in San Diego, I was there as an ADA Relay volunteer, and I would never just book a room. I have my paper with the conf # and the words "oceanfront queen studio suite". When I reserved it we discussed whether I wanted a room with the bed having the oceanfront view.
Yes, I did get a discount on the room rate but I assumed I was getting what I had asked for. As I said, I live in San Diego, I would have NEVER paid even $150 plus tax and parking for a room like that.
Almost as disappointing, was talking to the manager who seemed to care less.(Cathy???) I wasn't even asking for anything. She blamed me for reserving the wrong room and said "you only paid $150 and that a terrace room is a ?$$$ room". Incorrect and beside the point.

Room Tip: rooms do not look like internet photos. find out if there is a wedding or other party on the terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoCatSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We left relatives in Santa Ana for couple day anniversary get away. Lajolla Cove Suites is a hidden treasure and great value. Across street from park and Cove to see snorkelers and seals. Breathtaking, ample breakfast on the rooftop. Beautiful view from our balcony. This location is great, close driving to several beaches and San Diego. Nice pool and jacuzzi across parking lot and up steps. We asked the front desk for recommendation for dinner. He said walk over one bldg, go up steps. Walked up bluff stairs about 50 and entered a new street loaded w/ exclusive, jumping stores and restaurants. I did see hotel on Hotel Impossible, so fun to stay at place we saw on tv, don't see what the complaints are. Can't say enough, Lajolla and lajolla Cove suites was very cool and fun!

Room Tip: Newer comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Pictures shown on internet looked nothing like the room that we were given. The night we were there it was 80 degrees and there was no air conditioning in the room we were given, room was on the back of the building on the third floor. the parking lot was down 2 floors and directly across from the fourth floor on the other side of the parking lot was the swimming pool and outdoor area, so in other words we were in a canyon that had no air flow, loud from parking lot, pool etc , was small and not updated as pictures on the internet were. There was no way I would have been able to sleep in that room, for numerous reasons.

The front desk tried to charge up an additional $78 to "upgrade" to an air conditioned room. After
long negotiations we were finally given an air conditioned room, it was a larger room that we had reserved and that was the reason they needed to charge us extra. I did not need a larger room, but I did need a clean updated air conditioned room. I would never reserve a room that was not air conditioned if it was advertised that way. They did offer to bring in a portable air conditioner and install in the room, which they did, but the room was so small it took up all the floor room on one side of the bed and the air blew directly on the head of one side of the bed. An uacceptable alternative.

Location is great but not much else positive I can say about our experience.

Room Tip: do not take a room on back side of hotel...........only accept an updated air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Edward L, please accept our apology for your inconvenience and dissatisfaction during your recent stay here at the La Jolla Cove Suites. It appears there was a miscommunication with our team on the specific accommodations you wanted reserved versus what was reserved. I am pleased we resolved it for you while you were still here with us. Our pictures on our website are the exact rooms here at the hotel, and we have made sure we have photos of both our deluxe
suites with their oceanfront views, and our more economical accommodations that have an inside courtyard view. In San Diego, our weather blesses us with the convenience of not having to have air conditioning, but as you mentioned for our guests who desire it, our portable units we provide at no charge is appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we strive to create a wonderful experience for all our guests, I am so sorry we did not for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Jolla hotels

Woodland Hills
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The best location in La Jolla. Stayed on the 4th floor in a studio bedroom. It's not luxury but very clean, with a great view. If one wants to spend their whole vacation in a hotel room maybe they should go to a more upscale expensive hotel! We will definitely stay there again. My only complain is the $20 parking fee to park at the hotel's premises.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank fotomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We are very active 50+ year olds. We leave early and come back late. The coves were in a beautiful location and we were right smack in the middle facing the water. Very nice. Room was a little pricey but La Jolla in general was pricey. My one complaint with the room would be that the shower tub was so small it wasn't comfortable. Otherwise it was fine. The help was nice and breakfast was nice. I think La Jolla was a little quiet and a little hoity toity for our tastes and next time we may go down to the bay or PB! But back a bit from the boardwalk. That's where all the good bars were. In la jolla bars were closing at 11. It was maybe off season? Sept 19?

Room Tip: Face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#12 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Property: La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing