We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Inn(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn by the Sea(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,090 results
Traveller rating
312
373
169
117
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
373
169
117
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla jolla coverooftop breakfastsea lionsview from the balconyone bedroom suiteocean frontfull kitchenscripps parkcomplimentary breakfastan older hotelmain buildingpool and hot tubcan't beat the locationamazing locationwatch the sunsetbit datedyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
732 - 737 of 1,090 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Really great location right next to the cove, down the hill from the restaurants. Our ocean facing room faced the ocean....also the outhouses in the park. In fact, our room (I imagine the others surrounding us as well) were directly upwind from the outhouses, meaning that the odors of feces and heavy chemicals filled the air. No air conditioning, so the window (one tiny one in the bedroom), and the sliding doors to the semi-private balcony had to constantly be left open. Small suite in size... living room had a love seat, a small boxy one at that, the kitchen was small, and the bathroom was tiny. On-property Hotel parking for hotel guests is ridiculously expensive. Pool was nice, hot tub was nice. Breakfast choices were nothing but carbs: pastries, cereal, basic waffles (if you'll wait in an non-orderly fashion). Proteins, even hard boiled eggs, didn't exist. They had oranges that were slightly green if you wanted do dilute your carbo overload. This would be a great place to party with your 21 year old friends (as many were), but other then that, it's just a good location.

Room Tip: Find a place with air conditioning.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Brent R., thank you, yes our location is the considered the best when visiting La Jolla, as we are only 220 feet from the ocean, and the wild life. Which occasionally does result in a natural smell occurring which is what you experienced during your stay. Our community is addressing it as it does impact some our of guests throughout the village. We are very sorry you did not totally enjoy your stay with us, but our parking charge is comparable for the area, our breakfast is meant to be only a continental, it is upgraded with homemade Belgian waffles and hard boiled eggs as a courtesy convenience to our guests, at no charge. And perhaps you were here on a weekend we had a wedding, as our demographics is primarily families and couples, as we are considered a quiet, relaxing place to enjoy the beauty, sights and activities of being a oceanside getaway. We sincerely hope your next visit to La Jolla is more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed two nights in a one bedroom, two queen bed suite. Our room was in the annex, not the main building. It had a larger balcony and from the 4th floor we had a fabulous view. There is a breakfast included on the rooftop terrace and the waffles were a hit with my children. The best part about this property is the location. Cross the street and you are at La Jolla Cove. We kept our sliding glass door opened and could hear the sea lions and birds. We were there for a wedding and the reception was on the rooftop. It was pretty loud but ended at 10pm. We left our carry on bag with three iPads and a Nook when we checked out. When I called the hotel from the airport, they went directly to the room and retrieved the backpack for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocomitchells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

jocomitchells, your review made our team smile, as we love listening to the sea lions and watching the pelicans fly over the cove putting on quite a show for everyone daily ! Our complimentary continental breakfast is very popular because of the homemade Belgian Waffles we offer, and you are right, they are the biggest hit with our visiting little ones. Voted locally in the past four years as one of the "Top 3" Wedding Venues in San Diego, we are busy hosts on the weekends for weddings but do have a strict time boundary as to not to impact a restful night for all our other guests. Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I recently stayed at La Jolla Cove Suites on Oct 4 for 3 nights and felt compelled to share my review of this property . I rented suite 122 which was right across the street from the cove. After reading some of the reviews I was a little nervous about the property. First, the suite was big, clean and comfortable! The view was outstanding. Yes, you occasionally would get a smell from the cove but guess what? You get the same smell in the village regardless if you are at the Hotel Valencia or dining at Georges or 9-10! Secondly, there was a wedding and they did have ear plugs. Never used them as the party shut down around 11pm. I was also concerned about no AC. I requested AC units for the room and they were there upon arrival. We used them one night and they did they job! The front desk staff is friendly and accommodating. If you are used to the Ritz, this might not be your place. ( I have stayed at many of them). The location could not be any better. This is a cool retro property that I will come back to again. Thanks for the great trip. Mike B Illinois

Room Tip: Try suite 122
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Michael B., we appreciate your recognition of our "cool, retro" feeling of our property. We take great pride in the fact this is a family built and owned business since the late 1950's, and was one of the original hotels built here in La Jolla. We offer a unique experience of a vintage property with the closest location in La Jolla to the ocean, the scenic beauty of the southern California coastline, its' natural wildlife and stunning views, great customer service and clean, oversized suites, with balconies only 220 feet from the ocean. We are not for everyone, but for those guests who enjoy relaxing in a "cool, unpretentious" environment we find they return year after year to be with us, and we hope you will too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel was the last place of our 5 week holiday in USA and sadly we were very disappointed with it The reasons being:
1. Poor customer service upon check -in.The check-in staff did not make us feel welcome and did not try at all to accommodate our early arrival (unlike other hotels throughout our travel who did make an effort)
2. We had 3 days where the shower ceiling leaked water all over the bathroom floor.
3. They would not accept our prepaid credit/debit card upon departure, which meant we had to pay using my husbands AMEX card which costs us an extra $30.00.
4. This was the only hotel who charged us for on-site parking

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of ocean
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy5794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Judy5794, please accept our apologies for your disappointment of some of our in house polices.
Due to high occupancy the night before you arrived, we were sold out and did not have any available hotel rooms upon your arrival so very early that morning. We strive to accommodate all our guests' requests but occasionally are not able to meet their demands unfortunately. Which also, yes, unfortunately prepaid gift/debit cards we also are not able to take as formal payment, and apologize for that being inconvenient to you. Please know in the future we immediately
address all engineering issues in a guest room if reported, which we would have done, I am sorry we did not have an opportunity to rectify the situation for you. Thank you so much your comments, it allows our team to improve their efforts for our future guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

excellent location, walking distance to beach and childrens pool. Many restaurants and bars available up the hill on prospect st.
breakfast on the roof with an ocean view,mind the gulls !!
oceanfront view of the sunset...nothing better
refurbished rooms are comfortable and spacious.
been visiting for 15 years,will come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Colin A, thank you for your loyal patronage for the past 15 years ! You mentioned all the wonderful things that we get to enjoy everyday here in La Jolla, the walking distance to world class restaurants, shopping, the beach and the majestic La Jolla Cove itself. Having breakfast on the rooftop with the sun waking up the blue pacific ocean every morning, and taking in the sunset from the same location all lend itself to as you stated "relaxing la jolla". We hope to see you for your 16th year this time next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews