We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, mediocre accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Remember that you are only paying for the location. Probably the best location at La Jolla coves. Rooms are dated and in great need of renovation. Exterior appeal of the hotel is also nothing to talk about. In fact it has a bad curb appeal . But given the location one may care less about the looks of the hotel. Breakfast was fine, at the terrace with nice ocean views. Rooms may or may not have an ocean view... I landed one without a view.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Suchit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
There are newer reviews for La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

My boyfriend and I got a really great price on a hotel here, normally it would have been 400..but we only spent about 100.00 on booking.com ( it was last minute, and we really wanted to get away before he started his new job) At first we couldn't find our room, so we went back to find out more information.. and Yhover came with us to help us find our room. We would have been driving around forever, but it was so sweet of him to do that. That is customer service at its finest. Thumbs up to him, he deserves employee of the month :) :) :) :) service was quality. He even walked us to our room and showed us around. The view at 239 is gorgeous. Big room, two beds, living room, kitchenette. It's perfect for a family, but it was very roomy for the two of us. Thank you again Yhover this wouldn't be possible without you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelsae m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The location was the best. You could walk to the ocean and shops. We stayed in a ocean view room and the it was fantastic. The kitchenette was an added bonus. It was great having breakfast which included a nice selection of food and coffee. I will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked an ocean front one bedroom suite which was HUGE. We stayed in room 161 which was actually on the 6th floor, so no one above us and easy access to the rooftop breakfast location that was on the 5th floor. The views were amazing, the space in the unit awesome and the location if you enjoy nature and being able to walk to restaurants and shops as well, is fantastic.
Sunset over the ocean from the balcony with a cocktail was perfect.
Pros:
Breakfast: included in rate and enough variety for a stay of a few days. The waffles are great and the view phenomenal.
The space in the suites although the sofa sleeper was only good for kids to sleep on. I would not sleep on it as an adult. The bed in the master was very comfortable and the bed lamps great for reading. So much closet space and the kitchen has full size appliances.
Free Wi-Fi.
The iPod docking station was nice.
The pool and spa were a good size and located far enough from rooms that they didn't bother anyone with noisy kids. No pool towels though.
Cons:
A little on the old side and there was no dishwasher in the kitchen but the housekeeping staff washed our dishes which was nice.
The smell from the sealife (seals, sea lions, pelicans, etc) can be strong but it wasn't as bad as I thought it might be.
$20 per night parking fee. However, during the quiet season street parking is not hard to find if you wanted to do that.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front for sure.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJunky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a great budget alternative with all the necessities right at your finger tips for a fraction of the price. We had a room with an Awesome view of the beach, safe parking and I loved the kitchenette so we could go grocery shopping and bring home treats to made in the romm. The balcony was very relaxing. Walking distance from stops, beach and fun walking paths. I will stay again:-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Last weekend we stayed overnight at this hotel. We decided on the spur of the moment to drive from Los Angeles to La Jolla, and due to availability we got a very spacious suite with ocean view and breakfast included for $144 plus room tax, basically it was under $170. While the grounds of the hotel are average, more like a motel, the suite was big, modern and nicely furnished. The sofa bed at the living room was so so, but the bedroom was very large and the king size bed very comfortable.The breakfast room is at the roof with great view , the food and beverages are ok, nothing to rave about. Parking was 20$ a night, a rather steep rate, but that is how "the get you."

Room Tip: It is definitely worth paying the extra ten dollars and getting the ocean view suite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Farmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

I stay there for 3 days I had room 322 .Eleina and Richards gave me very nice welcome and I was checked in in less than 3 min. I had very nice ocean front queen suite on third floor amazing view.sur you can smell sea order but you are ocean front what do you except!the location is fabulous the hotel is very quiet at night.how ever we could here people next room talk on balcony and in their room in morning bc the wall are very thin but this is an hotel so what ever.
I got very nice experience the all staff were very helpful and very accommodating.
I got upgraded to room 422 bc my balcony door won't close properly
422 is one of the best room with ocean front and king bed it's was very nice they also have very nice very confi bed.clean room the roof on a top is mind blowing view!
One of the best of la Jolla cove!
I will return very soon I love being around water and sea lion.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £107 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing