We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$256
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$349
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$396
US$352
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Colonial La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$450
US$441
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Village Lodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
313
375
169
118
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
375
169
118
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla jolla coverooftop breakfastsea lionsview from the balconyone bedroom suiteocean frontfull kitchenscripps parkcomplimentary breakfastan older hotelmain buildingpool and hot tubcan't beat the locationamazing locationwatch the sunsetbit datedyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

La Jolla Cove Suites is a well-established hostelry, located directly across from La Jolla Cove--an area that comprises a green park, walking/biking paths, and most importantly, access to the two beaches and the waters of the cove. The cove is home to many seals, which bask on the rocks, and there is a natural cave formation to explore. As for the hotel, it is a relatively modest accommodation, several stories tall, with exterior corridors. Although bell service and (I believe) valet parking are available, there is a "self-service" quality to the experience; luggage carts are provided, and the on-site parking, immediately adjacent to the elevators at the rear of the building, encourages do-it-yourself luggage moving. However, I must add that the staff are pleasant, attentive, and willing to help with any needs presented to them. Our room, with a king bed, was described as "the first to undergo our current renovation, and it was featured on a Travel Channel spot about the hotel." (This was 10/2012). Perhaps this was promotional hyperbole, but our room appeared to have new furniture, it was clean, and we had no complaints about our one-night stay. It should be noted that the bathroom was on the small side. Hot water supply, heat/AC, and housekeeping responses to requests for extra towels were all without problem. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast, located on the topmost floor, with seating either inside or outside on the rooftop patio. The food was excellent, and the rooftop view--looking out over the cove to the ocean--is superb. The hotel is below most of La Jolla's center, necessitating either a very short drive or an aerobic (but pleasant) uphill walk to restaurants and shops. My wife and I chose to walk on a mild early-autumn evening to a restaurant for dinner, and the ambience of the town was almost European in its quiet, safe feeling--which is partly why I used "Location" in this review's title: This is the only place we've stayed in La Jolla, but our experience was overall beyond reproach, and the hotel's location appeared hard to beat--afternoon, nighttime, and then morning, we felt that we'd found the best location for a stay in this beautiful community.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello Richard R,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review! You are absolutely right, our location can't be beat! We hope to see you and your wife again soon.
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If claustrophobia, stuffy air, paper thin walls and a smaller than cruise ship sized bathroom are your thing then this is the accommodation for you. We were unfortunate enough to get a room right opposite the elevator and stairwell so there was constant noise and lack of privacy. We could not open the window and the curtains as a result and the room was stuffy and dark. The room is tiny, the bathroom -minuscule. I mean so miniature it is difficult to turn around in it. Interestingly, the room we received is not even pictured on their website ( gee.... I wonder why ;) ) . This place takes advantage of its ideal location right across the road from the cove to charge prices that are incoherent with the quality of the room. I was yearning to be able to open up a window and ,at least, smell the sea air but to no avail. Disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean facing room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreeSpiritLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello FreeSpiritLA,
We were very sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience. It sounds like the room you stayed in was our very basic hotel room is which is perfect for a sleeping room. We suggest an oceanfront room with a balcony if guests are going to be spending time in the room during their stay. We have several different room styles that range from studios, one bedroom, deluxe rooms, and even two bedroom / 2 bath suites. We hope you will give us a chance in the future and give one of these larger room types a try! Please feel free to contact me directly.
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a really great hotel, not for 5* service! but for a beautiful setting and great views from your room. Your balcony opens to the ocean view and the sound of the sea lions. The staff is great and the free breakfast is good , but best of all it is on the rooftop. Only potential downer is that some of the rooms do not have AC or heat, but it's San Diego, who needs it. There are plenty of fans and a stove.

Room Tip: Get an Oceanside room. A few rooms look over the parking lot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 June 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed our beautiful location. Thank you for taking the time to comment about us on Trip Advisor. All the best to you, Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went to a friend's Wedding atop the La Jolla Cove Suites. There obviously are a lot of different types of rooms available. I went with the King Studio Suite. There are 2 types I think, one is the regular, the upgraded one allows a higher floor (4th, highest there is) and also comes with an updated interior and air conditioning. Now true, it's at the beach, you don't need a/c, but I like to ensure I sleep in a climate controlled environment. I can't speak for the other rooms, but it was updated, and worked well for us.

Outstanding views from the balcony overlooking La Jolla Cove, absolutely stunning. I loved the view, relaxing to just sit on the balcony and people-watch. The staff were extremely pleasant, all friendly at every interaction, whether it be the Lobby or in the elevator.

Yeah, it looks like the hotel was made in the 50s, but it has this old school charm. Only 1 elevator, so you might wait a little bit if there are a lot of people coming in and out, but overall a cute hotel, I'd stay at again. The 5 stars is not a representation of 5 stars overall, I gave it 5 for its category, being a 3.5 star hotel, meaning it lived up to its expectation. No, it's not a 5 star resort, but in the 3.5 star category, this does lead.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 June 2014

We thank you for your informative and detailed review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the amazing view. We also thank you for your kind comments about our staff, they are truly our greatest asset. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was perfect for all of our needs except for sleeping. We could hear every noise there was. Even people talking in the next room. The customer service was great.the fold out bed was so bad that they brought up to roll away beds for free. The location to the cove is the best and the view from the balcony was so beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reaniercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful location and the view from your balcony. Thank you for your positive comment about our customer service . . . it means so much to our team as they are committed to providing 5 Star customer service to our guests. We do apologize that your sleep was disturbed. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews