We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can taste the ocean it's so close...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent a wonderful 6 nights at the La Jolla Cove Suites - 72 and sunny EVERY DAY! Sea lions harping, scuba/snorkeling day/night, tourists rolling in and out of Scripps Park. A great place to stay - couples or families. Great pool area w/grills and seating. Cozy suites with sink, mini fridge and microwave for quick snacks. Wonderful views from the balcony/street side looking out onto the Pacific over Scripps Park. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat...we were very sad to have to leave such a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony -- worth every view you'll get from it - day or night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pepper5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Pepper5105,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the property and all the wonderful things we have to offer!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Most of their rooms look awesome from the pictures, but if you try to save money with a good deal at this hotel you'll regret it. They boast 95 percent of their rooms face the ocean, and they do, but if you think "I don't need an ocean view" you'll regret it. The room my girlfriend and I got stuck in was so tiny that only a double bed could fit, a queen never would. The bathroom was smaller than a cruise ship bathroom. Sitting on the toilet you could bump your knee on the sink, and the shower was big enough for one person to stand under the water. There was no room to move about. We were also located directly outside the elevator. The doors lined up. So I complained and they moved us away from the elevator. Would have been 150 to upgrade to a room facing the ocean. Second room had a nice bathroom at least, but the curtains were so thin for the windows that faced the walkway we had to keep the black out shades drawn so that people couldn't see into out room.

There was no fridge or microwave so we couldn't bring left overs back from restaurants. I knew there was no air conditioning so I brought a fan, it wasn't hot anyways.

The location was amazing though. So much to do within walking distance. And so many places for breakfast lunch and dinner as well as desert. Their complimentary breakfast was okay. Just waffles and cereal, rooftop view was awesome. We went up there at sunset with our wine and ice cream and enjoyed it.

The service was what sort of killed it. The first guy at least got us a room away from the elevator. But when the hotel was so empty the two weekday nights we stayed I was confused as to why they couldn't just give a complimentary upgrade (I've had a few hotels do that when the rooms are empty, I would have gotten a third night had they done this). We didn't have a do not disturb sign and it took over an hour to get one and I had to ask multiple times. But when my corkscrew broke and I couldn't get my bottle of wine open one of the night guys helped me get it open. Also they snuck in a twenty dollar a night parking, that was absurd because of what I was paying already to just stay two nights in a tiny room.

This place is nice if you wanna spend more money, I took the cheap route and got burned for it. At booking it would have been 25 dollars more a night to upgrade but at the hotel it was 75 dollars more a night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ersheajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Ersheajr,
We are sorry your stay was disappointing. As you mentioned, we do have larger rooms that may have been better suited for you. Our standard rooms (without a view) are meant as sleeping rooms only and are perfect if you will be spending most of your time out in the village or at the beach. We hope that you choose to give us another chance and choose a room with an oceanfront balcony; you won't be disappointed!
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Location could not be better, especially with a balcony overlooking the ocean. So nice to watch the sunset with a glass of wine. Certain days we did experience the aroma coming from the direction of the sea lions, but it was not constant and did not impact the overall quality of the stay. We had a small 'kitchenette', really just useful for reheating left overs. The included buffet breakfast was adequate. The room itself was dated, and we did not appreciate the window in the shower to the outside common walk shared with our neighbor. Would recommend it but with the understanding that this is a "value" property and not at all on par in price or quality with the neighboring properties.

Room Tip: Go with an ocean-front balcony - still a reasonable option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear lmvacation,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The place is old and disgusting...the rooms don't have any furniture to sit and relax and converse. Bathrooms are small, old and dirty floors. Too many rules, seems like we were back in grade school by telling us what not to do.You can save your money and stay at a much place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bschiveley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi bschiveley,
We are sorry you had such a bad experience during your stay with us. As far as our rules, no smoking or no noise that disturbs other guests, they are meant to ensure each guest has a pleasant stay. While we are a vintage property, we go to great lengths to make sure our rooms meet our high standards of cleanliness.
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect for panaramic views, access to a dining and shopping. The rooms have a retro feel. The smell outside is off putting at first (I did not know about the seals at the time). I would say a strong sea smell. The rooms are expansive with large windows overlooking the gardens and Pacific Ocean across the road. The cookies left by house keeping are awesome, however non were left second night. Service at desk was less that spectacular, not offensive but not interested. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The seals are everywhere and the natural surroundings are what make this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Brian S,
We are glad you thought the location was perfect and you are right, our rooms do have a retro feel. The smell outside from the cove has not been a problem recently and we are hoping it stays that way! We are sorry the staff last September was less than spectacular however we are very excited about the improvements we've made since then including ongoing training plus the addition of our newest team members. We hope you come back soon to see our progress!
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The best place to see the ocean is on the beach, the second best place to see the ocean is from any of the La Jolla suites cove suites rooms. It was amazing to sit on the balcony and watch the waves crash on the shore and listen to the seals play in the cove. One of our favorite things to do was to open a bottle of wine and sit on the balcony and watch the sunset. This hotel offers experiences that a fancier, more expensive hotel simply can't match. The location to the beach and to shopping was perfect. The service was great. They offer a complementary roof top breakfast that is worth not going out to eat. The pool and hot tub is a great hub to meet people. we met some great people there and had great conversations. I would stay here again if this is where our next adventure takes us.

Room Tip: Any room you choose will have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJollaCoveSuites, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Chmcdan,

Thank you for your review and for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the wonderful things we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Tracy White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We opted for a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. The bedrooms and bathrooms were rather small, but it wasn't a big deal for us. We really didn't use the living room very much since we had 3 balconies facing the coast. It is an older hotel but some updating has been done. It's not a fancy hotel but it worked perfectly for what we were looking for. There was no air conditioning, but when all the patio doors were opened, we were very comfortable. You are right across the street from La Jolla Cove. A small beach where you can go open water swim and swim up to some sea lion colonies. We did end up driving to a couple other beaches in the area. Loved that we were within walking distances to a lot of restaurants and shopping. The breakfast on the roof top was very nice. Just wish there were some more protein options (only hard boiled eggs available). We checked out beach towels from the front desk - a very nice perk when traveling!

Room Tip: May want to upgrade - saw some interior rooms or rooms next to the elevator that would have been ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Heidi W,
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will definitely consider adding more protein options to our breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,191 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,379 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,034 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £97 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing