We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
San DIego
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I love to sit on the balcony and people watch as I sit and sip on a nice glass of wine ... the best place to just relax when you need to decompress ! and the continental breakfast in the morning over looking the ocean is a fabulous !

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDIegoTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJollaCoveSuites, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear SanDIegoTravelinfool,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our oceanfront balconies are definitely a great place to relax! We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Tracy White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    334
    157
    111
    112
See reviews for
382
345
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We decided to try La Jolla Cove Suites again this past week, after a 7-year break from it. I had read a few recent reviews about LJCS and it seemed like they might have improved in some areas. Since we love the Cove area, we decided to give it another try. The previous time we stayed here (2007) the noise was irritating, smoking on suite patios was tolerated by the management and the property and furnishings were extremely outdated. This time we requested a corner room in the annex building, top floor. We arrived and found that we were given the top floor, but not a corner room. We thought this was OK since we were given the top floor. Within two minutes of getting into the room someone from the front office called to see if everything was OK. I told them the room looked good, but I would have to call them back once we had a chance to settle in. Within five minutes we began hearing a lot of noise in the suite next to us. The insulation is bad in this hotel. We soon learned that our next door neighbors were having many visitors over for the day (and late into the night).
When I called back to let the front office know how things were going, I told them how noisy it was next door and I was very concerned about it. I asked if perhaps another suite would be available for us that day or the next day. The front desk lady said she did not think there were any other rooms available for us, but she would have the manager call us back shortly. After an hour and a half went by I decided to call again to check on a different room. This time I talked to a manager who knew nothing about our previous phone call. She did say, however, that there were no corner rooms available that night. OK, I told her we would try staying the night and I would let her know the next day if we were going to continuing staying here, depending on the noise situation next door. The manager said she would call the people in the next door room that were making all the noise. The noises next door continued late into the night plus there was so much smoking on the next door patio, we could not enjoy our own balcony. The balconies are extremely close and the dividing wall between them does not extend out far enough to allow any privacy. Cigarette smoke was also coming into our suite through what we determined must be the electrical outlets!
The noise and smoking continued all evening. At one point (around 10:30 PM), I happened to see five people noisily leaving that suite, but the partying continued on the patio. Just after 11 PM I called the front desk to complain again about the noise. I was told they would have security go over to the room to check on things. I never heard anyone from the hotel go next door to check on things. The hotel front desk person assured me they have a strict NO SMOKING policy that extends to the entire property. Hmm. The LJCS hotel website has a nearly 500-word section in their policies about no tolerance for parties or smoking and it lists all the consequences that will occur if someone dared to challenge them on it. The bottom line is that it appeared to us that no one did anything about the problems we reported. In the morning we observed cigarettes and lighters on the patio tables next door.
The only good thing to come out of our experience here is that the manager let us out of our 4-night reservation. We left after staying just one stressful night here. We were extremely disappointed in the total disregard of our concerns and their own “policies” by the management of this hotel.
Note: when I originally called to make a reservation, I asked the front desk person if there was any construction going on nearby. The person told me “well, they are just working on the lifeguard station across the street.” I was surprised to find out that in fact, a huge section of the Cove is being redone and there are trucks, noise and workers there much of the day. I would have appreciated knowing about this before reserving four nights here (see attached photo).

Room Tip: Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tempe1Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Tempe1Traveler,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and thank you for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. It is a great training tool and we take them very seriously. I will certainly share your survey with our entire team, as we believe it very important for all associates to be able to see how our guests rate their stay with us.

I was quite distressed to hear after speaking with you and addressing the situation earlier in the day that the noise level went on until the late night. On behalf of the staff at the La Jolla Suites Hotel, I want to personally apologize to you for your recent experience. While it is always our goal that our guests have an exceptional experience, based on your comments, we let you down during your stay and in no way was that our intent nor is it the way we want to handle our guest concerns. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

Once again I want to apologize and hope that you will allow us the opportunity have you as our guest and exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Jolla hotels

Epping, NH
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent a wonderful 6 nights at the La Jolla Cove Suites - 72 and sunny EVERY DAY! Sea lions harping, scuba/snorkeling day/night, tourists rolling in and out of Scripps Park. A great place to stay - couples or families. Great pool area w/grills and seating. Cozy suites with sink, mini fridge and microwave for quick snacks. Wonderful views from the balcony/street side looking out onto the Pacific over Scripps Park. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat...we were very sad to have to leave such a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony -- worth every view you'll get from it - day or night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pepper5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Pepper5105,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the property and all the wonderful things we have to offer!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Most of their rooms look awesome from the pictures, but if you try to save money with a good deal at this hotel you'll regret it. They boast 95 percent of their rooms face the ocean, and they do, but if you think "I don't need an ocean view" you'll regret it. The room my girlfriend and I got stuck in was so tiny that only a double bed could fit, a queen never would. The bathroom was smaller than a cruise ship bathroom. Sitting on the toilet you could bump your knee on the sink, and the shower was big enough for one person to stand under the water. There was no room to move about. We were also located directly outside the elevator. The doors lined up. So I complained and they moved us away from the elevator. Would have been 150 to upgrade to a room facing the ocean. Second room had a nice bathroom at least, but the curtains were so thin for the windows that faced the walkway we had to keep the black out shades drawn so that people couldn't see into out room.

There was no fridge or microwave so we couldn't bring left overs back from restaurants. I knew there was no air conditioning so I brought a fan, it wasn't hot anyways.

The location was amazing though. So much to do within walking distance. And so many places for breakfast lunch and dinner as well as desert. Their complimentary breakfast was okay. Just waffles and cereal, rooftop view was awesome. We went up there at sunset with our wine and ice cream and enjoyed it.

The service was what sort of killed it. The first guy at least got us a room away from the elevator. But when the hotel was so empty the two weekday nights we stayed I was confused as to why they couldn't just give a complimentary upgrade (I've had a few hotels do that when the rooms are empty, I would have gotten a third night had they done this). We didn't have a do not disturb sign and it took over an hour to get one and I had to ask multiple times. But when my corkscrew broke and I couldn't get my bottle of wine open one of the night guys helped me get it open. Also they snuck in a twenty dollar a night parking, that was absurd because of what I was paying already to just stay two nights in a tiny room.

This place is nice if you wanna spend more money, I took the cheap route and got burned for it. At booking it would have been 25 dollars more a night to upgrade but at the hotel it was 75 dollars more a night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ersheajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ersheajr,
We are sorry your stay was disappointing. As you mentioned, we do have larger rooms that may have been better suited for you. Our standard rooms (without a view) are meant as sleeping rooms only and are perfect if you will be spending most of your time out in the village or at the beach. We hope that you choose to give us another chance and choose a room with an oceanfront balcony; you won't be disappointed!
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Location could not be better, especially with a balcony overlooking the ocean. So nice to watch the sunset with a glass of wine. Certain days we did experience the aroma coming from the direction of the sea lions, but it was not constant and did not impact the overall quality of the stay. We had a small 'kitchenette', really just useful for reheating left overs. The included buffet breakfast was adequate. The room itself was dated, and we did not appreciate the window in the shower to the outside common walk shared with our neighbor. Would recommend it but with the understanding that this is a "value" property and not at all on par in price or quality with the neighboring properties.

Room Tip: Go with an ocean-front balcony - still a reasonable option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear lmvacation,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The place is old and disgusting...the rooms don't have any furniture to sit and relax and converse. Bathrooms are small, old and dirty floors. Too many rules, seems like we were back in grade school by telling us what not to do.You can save your money and stay at a much place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bschiveley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi bschiveley,
We are sorry you had such a bad experience during your stay with us. As far as our rules, no smoking or no noise that disturbs other guests, they are meant to ensure each guest has a pleasant stay. While we are a vintage property, we go to great lengths to make sure our rooms meet our high standards of cleanliness.
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect for panaramic views, access to a dining and shopping. The rooms have a retro feel. The smell outside is off putting at first (I did not know about the seals at the time). I would say a strong sea smell. The rooms are expansive with large windows overlooking the gardens and Pacific Ocean across the road. The cookies left by house keeping are awesome, however non were left second night. Service at desk was less that spectacular, not offensive but not interested. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The seals are everywhere and the natural surroundings are what make this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Brian S,
We are glad you thought the location was perfect and you are right, our rooms do have a retro feel. The smell outside from the cove has not been a problem recently and we are hoping it stays that way! We are sorry the staff last September was less than spectacular however we are very excited about the improvements we've made since then including ongoing training plus the addition of our newest team members. We hope you come back soon to see our progress!
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,090 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
950 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,006 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Property: La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing