We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the key”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Location is the key”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

If my wife and I had been looking for a luxurious hotel experience we'd have stayed at La Valencia. However, our plan was to spend time everywhere but the hotel except to sleep so we looked for a hotel that met only two criteria: 1) it had to be in the Village of La Jolla within a short walk to everywhere - the ocean, shops on Prospect, Girard St. etc.; 2) it had to be relatively inexpensive.

In that respect, the Best Western Inn by the Sea fit the bill and we were just fine with it.

On the upside:
- Location, location, location. I can't overstate that.
- Friendly and helpful desk staff
- Good cleaning staff. Timely, thorough.
- Breakfast was good.
- Free wi-fi and two bottles of water each day.

On the downside:
- The rate we got was for a first-floor room with a patio. Ours was adjacent to the pool and the breakfast room was next to the pool. Nobody used the pool and we usually left the room before heavy breakfast traffic and noise started so it wasn't an issue for us.

- Other parts of the hotel may have been renovated but ours was not. The room could use fresh paint as could the hallway leading to it. The bathroom fixtures could be replaced. The inside of the dresser smelled a little musty, although we didn't need to use it.

- My wife thought the beds were too hard but I didn't mind them at all.

- The TV is HD capable but the signal is not, and most of the channels are all infomercials anyway.

Neither up nor down: parking costs $12 day and is a hassle, but that's how it is in La Jolla. It's nice just to have a place to park that's not on the street.

Bottom line - would I stay there again? If my needs were the same, sure. I'd also check it out again if I wanted something more, based on people's positive reviews of the renovated rooms, assuming I can get one higher up.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunburnt_curt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    314
    155
    40
    36
See reviews for
288
259
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Another reviewer mentioned that the rooms were refurbished....when....1980? We have stayed at many BWs and I can tell you that this property was a big disappointment. We used points for one of the two nights' stay and paid for the next. We asked for a top floor and were assured we'd have one....nope! But the one thing; aside from the lack of attention this property has received over the years; that really iced the cake was ......the left side of the bed was worn down so it felt like I was going to roll off onto the floor all night. The pillows were not good either. Nothing worse then not being able to get a good nights sleep. Will not be back to this location.

Room Tip: Check out the bed first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Spent our last five nights there as we found La Jolla an ideal spot for visiting the San Diego area. Afterwards was surprised to see some negative comments , but then realised these are from before the total refurbishment. Concur with all the positive reviews and found hotel well run. Comfortable, rooms with balconies , best to get floor 4 /5 . Apparently many rooms do have microwave/fridge so just a question of specifying on check in. Great value at around $130 / night given the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Our guide book told us that all hotels in La Jolla were expensive, but this is one exception. Prices are mid-range, so its not a budget option, but we had a great stay - rooms are roomy, good continental breakfast,free bottled water and chocs, although no fridge or microwave, which we came to expect in California hotels. The staff were very helpful and efficient. Our room partially overlooked the sea, too. The hotel is also very central for the beach, shops & restaurants.We would recommend La Jolla as a lovely destination to visit, and certainly suggest a stay at Best Western Inn by the Sea.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LucyLondon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Great room overlooking the heated outdoor pool. Great free breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowley848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Great value for location, view and proximity to the beach! Access to beach, shopping, hottest restaurants and clubs and excellent service. This was my 2nd stay and the staff remembered me and bent over backwards to accomodate all our needs. Great chocolate everyday from housekeeping staff!

Room Tip: 5th floor offers beautiful ocean view from the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel is just an average Best Western despite its great location and its expensive rates ! The rooms are standard (no fridge) but The service had really been terrible during our 3 days stay because of the front desk incompetence!
I had booked two rooms 4 months in advance but they were unable to give us door to door rooms. They even loose our luggages as they tried to change us rooms and gave us the keys of somebody else s room (luckilly, the couple in that room was awake and. . Decent! :-).
The breakfast is really not good but it wasn t a surprise. The pool is very small and the stairs to access it neither very clean or neat.
In our room, the shower tab was broken and the bathroom was clogged but it seemed normal for the front desk people : no apologies no discount for all the trouble we had during our stay! They even make us pay an extra day for the parking. I m sure you can find a better hotel at a better price in this beautiful area! !!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NataKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
924 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing