We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But Old Hotel”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location But Old Hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of La Jolla Cove and Prospect Street... Great location. However, it is old and rundown and needs a complete makeover. Old bedding, old carpets, musty odor and poor plumbing are among the many issues I encountered with this hotel. Surprising coming from a Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 989charlesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    318
    157
    40
    37
See reviews for
293
262
41
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This should not be rated Best Western "Plus!" Unfriendly and inconsiderate staff, the tub would not drain while showering, and they could only manage to put 3 towels on the shelf (even though we had 4 people in our family)! Parking is extra and yet there is not enough room (Especially if you have a large vehicle)! Parking garage is only 6 1/2 ft high so beware if you drive a full size SUV. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located about two blocks from the ocean. I wouldn't call in an Inn, just a regular hotel. Staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast could use some help!
It was clean but overpriced. If you can't find something else, this place will do.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Adah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is an update to a review I posted a few years ago. The hotel now has an air conditioning/heating unit installed in the rooms. This allows thermostat control on an individual basis, a large improvement. I stay here 1-2 times a year when I visit family in La Jolla. The hotel always provides a great value and the breakfast is good and well stocked. The rooms facing Fay St. are quieter than the rooms facing the alley. Parking is $12/night and the spaces in the front and back of the hotel fill up quickly. They do have a plan to use a garage across the street, the car has to be out of the garage by 9am the next morning. Fortunately, I managed to find a spot each evening.
I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good hotel that accommodates families.
The front desk clerk told me that they will be upgrading the rooms soon and one of the first steps will be placing a refrigerator in each room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Fay St are quieter than the rooms that face the alley. Oceanview rooms face the alley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Loved this location for walkable accessibility to beach, shopping, running paths. Very affordable and clean pool for the kids when the ocean is too cold! The rooms are scheduled to be renovated and I look forward to coming back again soon to check them out. Overall, a great stay for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Faith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at the Inn by the Sea for a few days before a work trip to San Diego... It was the perfect place to stay... very affordable, clean and close to everything. Walking distance to the beach, shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank michelannea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

well above the excellence in all area. value for price paid. parking charges are a little concern,otherwise excellent place to stay.well kept property , very professional staff.good breakfast. priced competetively better than other hotels in the competition.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
950 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing