We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectations for a BW”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations for a BW”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here when I traveled to La Jolla for a wedding. The staff were friendly and helpful right from the start. The rooms were clean, but the upcoming renovations will certainly be welcome. The lobby has already been beautifully renovated so I have no doubt that once the rooms are updated, this will be an even better place to stay.

The location can't be beat. We parked our car upon check-in and didn't move it again until we checked out 3 days later. Everything is within walkable distance...the ocean, the parks, incredible restaurants, shopping, pharmacies, liquor stores, gyms, etc.

The balcony was a nice plus, given that the town is so beautiful and peaceful.

Breakfast is beyond your typical continental; there were bagels, pastries, fresh cut fruit, fresh apples and bananas, yogurt, juices, coffee, eggs, potatoes, french toast, breads, and sausage. What more could you want? Though I do recommend checking out breakfast offsite...there are so many great ones!

All in all, a good experience.

Room Tip: For quiet, an upper floor is best as there were always people at the pool, especially in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FINNasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    314
    155
    40
    36
See reviews for
288
259
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bellflower, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I like this hotel and all of Best Western hotel due to the convenience they offer with great pool for the kids and great breakfast to start the day. The hotel is conveniently located within 5 min of walking distant from the beach with friendly staffs and clean environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chanthol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Not only did we score a 5th floor room with a sea view but we also acquired a parking space steps from the front door upon our arrival! Our balcony was amazing and I loved that we could leave the door open all night with the beautiful breeze coming in our room. I found this hotel on TripAdvisor and read about the dated decor which didn't phase me at all because our room is so wonderful! We weren't here 3 hours when my husband announced he would love to stay here again on our next visit! What an amazing location, 2 blocks from the beach and steps away from amazing food and drink! Its day one of our 3 day stay and we've already seen a beautiful sunset, we ate delicious food, had local beer, and have been immensely enjoying our balcony! Location can't be beat & at such a great price! Thanks TripAdvisor for this gem, might be one of our best finds ever!♡

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sparkysgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The BW hotel was excellent for us to stay at. Very good location in La Jolla CA. Close to shops and the scenic Pacific Ocean. It was very reasonable for the location. The complimentary breakfast was very good. I will visit this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This property is within walking distance of the famous baby seal beach. The hotel staff are helpful at every point to bringing tea bags to our room, to replacing a broken sink faucet to explaining the demand us quests put on the courtesy internet service. There are many very friendly eateries and many art outlets from African to Avant Garde to Renaissance. Or, take a stroll along the ocean front.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Easy registration and lots of parking. Pool area private and lobby offers reading area, computer, complementary coffee bar, fruit and newspaper. A true home away from home. Just outside your door fantastic shopping, restaurants and ocean with sea lions on the white beaches. Breakfast around pool area with many offerings to please.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The location makes this place a favorite of mine. The staff are friendly, the free breakfast and internet are nice touches. I do look forward in staying at the hotel after the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Candie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
921 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing