We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Arrived early and they accommodated me quickly. Quiet room. Nice room. great staff. Nice breakfast.. Centrally located. Was able to walk to nice location. I had to leave early and staff opened breakfast area for me prior to official opening. Parking limited.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a great stay at this Best Western! Its a 10 minute walk to the beach with ocean views! We arrived at 1 and were put on the fourth floor with a view of the ocean! The room was good size and clean with pictures of the area on the wall. We had a good size balcony with a table and chairs. Beds were comfortable and we slept with the door open so we could feel the cool breeze. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great place to stay with in walking distance to the beach,shops and restraints. The hotel staff was friendly and asked if they could do anything for us every time we saw them

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elenas4204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you want a friendly, clean, and great breakfast for your dollar, Best Western is the place to stay! It is walking distance from shopping and ocean. It also Has a nice clean pool for the family. The hotel was also very quiet which made it very easy to fall asleep during the day or evening hours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Randolph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We usually prefer to stay at non-chain or suite hotels. Selected this one for the location. The hotel was very nice and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. The location (middle of La Jolla Village) was as convenient as expected. A very good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank LorriD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This place was very nice. Included breakfast. Clean & helpful staff. Parking fee 12.00 per night. Central location to all shops, beach & eateries. You have to go eat at Bubba's while your there. Definitely going back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Best Western Inn by the Sea is the hotel I always stay at when visiting La Jolla, CA. Ease of reservation, expense , parking, and location relative to the scenic shoreline, restaurants and shops are the factors that justify my choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Figured i'd update my old review!

Great hotel if you want to be in the center of La Jolla! I have stayed at this location 4 times so far, and every stay have been more than exceptional! Rooms are older, but are very clean and tidy. Each also comes with a balcony. I personally prefer getting rooms on the front side because it is usually less noisy, since Amichi's pizza restaurant is behind it. The lobby is very nicely renovated, and rooms are also soon going to be redone, and will add refrigerators to each room. I also want to thank the staff, and especially the great manager who let us store our luggage in the office after we checked out. Every stay here has been great, and i am sure that it will continue!

Also, a shout-out to the AWESOME management!

(THIS WAS TAKEN OFF MY GOOGLE+ REVIEW FOR THE PROPERTY FROM OUT LATEST STAY)

Room Tip: I do recommend getting a room on the front of the hotel, since it is (most of the time) less noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delta757man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,120 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £118 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing